2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 F10 Technical Topics DIY Guides & Discussions Installation of subwoofer in trunk
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-17-2011, 06:54 AM   #1
drknisbet
Registered
 
Drives: f10 528i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trinidad

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Installation of subwoofer in trunk

Hey guys. I have a F10 528i and i was wondering has anyone installed an after market subwoofer in the trunk. I have the upgraded system with the subs under the front seats, but find in really lacks a nice low end base sound. I actually already purchased an Alpine amp with 2 10" subs but now have second thoughts. Any one have a DIY for installations??
drknisbet is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2011, 04:33 PM   #2
bpon89
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 535i Msport
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

I agree on the lack of low end bass sound!
bpon89 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-06-2011, 03:47 PM   #3
KRUZN335
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: F10 535
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Posts: 1,755
iTrader: (10)

id love to know how others (if any?) are doing the wiring? I would love to add a little more bass as well
KRUZN335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-07-2011, 12:18 PM   #4
grimlock
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: F10 N52B30@255PS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 1,801
iTrader: (0)

i agree, i have the hifi (middle) system and extra low end thump would be a good bonus, i imagine it cant be hard as an add-on, something to do when you have a little extra time
grimlock is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-08-2011, 03:41 PM   #5
Rochdale Pioneers
First Lieutenant
 
Rochdale Pioneers's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 520d SE
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Stockton on Tees UK

Posts: 371
iTrader: (0)

Are there no subs under the seats on the standard audio system? My poverty spec E91 has them albeit without the amp needed to properly power them
Rochdale Pioneers is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2011, 01:09 PM   #6
grimlock
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: F10 N52B30@255PS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 1,801
iTrader: (0)

Ok, im going to hook up my home use 100w Mirage sub which is hanging around collecting dust, with this for power:
http://cgi.ebay.com.hk/Car-12V-24V-D...item3f07c4e185

The only thing left is where/how to steal the signal from.. anyone know?
Gonna take some work looking up the audio system, I just need the main signal, the sub has the cutoff. May have to find where the audio unit is, take it apart and should be there.
Just going to try this to see how it sounds with the sub, I anticipate it should be pretty sufficient, and give good tight bass.
But might not want to go with this for a long term solution, the thing weighs 26lbs! But worth a try for 4 bucks.
grimlock is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2011, 02:48 PM   #7
simon530d GT
New Member
 
Drives: 530d GT
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

Find the signal into one of the larger speakers, that will contain the sub signal too.
Solder in an extra lead to the new sub amp.
Get a signal reduction kit to take speaker pwr and convert this to phono.
Plug phono into amp.
Getting good pwr to the amp is prob harder, you'l need a good supply, don't suppose the battery is nearby ??????
simon530d GT is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-12-2011, 12:28 PM   #8
grimlock
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: F10 N52B30@255PS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 1,801
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon530d GT View Post
Find the signal into one of the larger speakers, that will contain the sub signal too.
Solder in an extra lead to the new sub amp.
Get a signal reduction kit to take speaker pwr and convert this to phono.
Plug phono into amp.
Getting good pwr to the amp is prob harder, you'l need a good supply, don't suppose the battery is nearby ??????
Thanks for the advice, Simon530d.
The battery is in the trunk, which is where Ill put the sub.. if I get the power through the cig lighter will be no good? Its fused at 20A@12V..the DC->AC converter I plan to run will max out far below that, perhaps 100W max steady.. ill try the filtered 12V and 13.8v direct
The first converter I order above turned out to be a piece of crap so Im going to invest a little more for a better one..
I'll need to spend so time figuring out how to remove the various trim pieces..
The sub is already amped, just runs on AC(its a home sub).. so I don't need to convert the signal to phono right?
grimlock is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2011, 01:17 PM   #9
simon530d GT
New Member
 
Drives: 530d GT
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

Sorry, noooooh dat won't work at al

U need a 12 v car amp 500W or so dep on your taste
Bass enclosure & speaker
Some amps will have an inbuild sub filter
The power needs for the amp are BIG so forget the cig plug
Decent 50+ amp wire straight from the battery, fuse always nice
Your local car hifi shop should help you out
simon530d GT is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-04-2011, 10:08 PM   #10
535xikid
Registered
 
Drives: F10 535i Xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: MD

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

Subwoofers in trunk of F10

Hello All, I found this picture on another thread but can't relocate it ...sorry. But I did save a picture of the final work completed. I thought it was a freakin impressive job. The owner didn't do the work and didn't really have the know how to explain the work he had done, but as I said before this looks amazing.
Attached Images
  
535xikid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2011, 07:31 PM   #11
PhiDeltBeers
Lieutenant
 
Drives: R35 GT-R
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tulsa, OK

Posts: 538
iTrader: (0)

I installed a 12" jl audio last week. Pretty simply really and can be done in an evening. If you guys having already figures this out let me know. The hardest part is tearing the trunk out.
__________________
PhiDeltBeers is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2011, 07:36 PM   #12
PhiDeltBeers
Lieutenant
 
Drives: R35 GT-R
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tulsa, OK

Posts: 538
iTrader: (0)

1
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhiDeltBeers











Nothing real special on the sub install, but it's real clean. It's a 12" JL Audio W3 with a 500.1 JL amp attached to the back of the box. I had this in my 335i, but never put in in my GT-R. If you're going to do an install, I can lead you to a good thread that tells you what wires to tap, etc...
__________________
PhiDeltBeers is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-21-2011, 02:46 PM   #13
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!
Major
 
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!!'s Avatar
 
Drives: 06 E90 330, 15 AY F82 M4TMFW
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: L.I, NY

Posts: 1,268
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2006 330i SPORT  [5.00]
Looks clean. Where did you tap your signals from?
__________________



LIVE FAST..DRIVE FASTER!!
SMOKE EM IF U GOT EM!! is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-21-2011, 03:59 PM   #14
PhiDeltBeers
Lieutenant
 
Drives: R35 GT-R
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tulsa, OK

Posts: 538
iTrader: (0)

Signals are tapped from the speaker wires coming out of the Harmon amp. It's easy to tell which ones to tap because they are a lower gauge than the rest. A lot of people were saying a pac trunk Loc wouldn't work with this stereo, but they have since been proven wrong. Sound is perfect.
__________________
PhiDeltBeers is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-21-2011, 05:40 PM   #15
Sonnie
Bama Hillbilly
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 528i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lower Bama

Posts: 88
iTrader: (0)

You would want to tap into the sub out speaker line and use something like the AudioControl LC2i to convert the speaker level to line level. This also will help compensate for the roll-off below 60Hz that is inherent in the system. Otherwise, you probably will not gain very much low end response.
Sonnie is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2011, 08:35 AM   #16
Flex33
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 535I
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: BOSTON,MA.

Posts: 32
iTrader: (0)

I Just Had Mine Installed , I Watched Them Do It The Battery Is In The Trunk So He Ran The Power And Ground For The Amp Right There , In The Left Panel In The Trunk Is Where The Factory Amp Is,he Tapped Into Those Wires And Got The Rca Signal,the He Tapped Into The Fuse Box In The Trunk On The Right Panel And Got The Remote Power For The Amp, I Got This Installed In My 2011 Gt535i, U Will Need A Test Light,and A Small Speaker To Test Wires For The Rca, I Forgot What Color The Wires Are,but I Think They Might Be The Thick Blue Wire With Red Line.hopes This Helps Out.
Flex33 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 AM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST