2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 BMW 5-Series (F10) Forums General 5-Series Sedan and Wagon (F10 / F11) Forum F10 550i Valentine One Install ?
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-10-2010, 01:32 AM   #23
taylorpetie
Private
 
taylorpetie's Avatar
 
Drives: 550i X-Drive, Dark Graphite II
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CA

Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E60orBust View Post
Anyone experience a lot of false positives with the valentine one? If my V1 is at i-Drive screen or higher (holding it in my hand), I get a constant false positive coming from behind. I've had no choice but to unplug it.

Something in my 550i must be broadcasting a lot of interference.
I have mine mounted just below the rear view mirror and V1 works fine (there's the usual X-band alarms, but not constant as you would describe it)

If you have active cruise control, the laser may trigger the V1, but you mentioned that it is coming from behind, so not sure what it could be...
taylorpetie is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-10-2010, 07:40 AM   #24
mautzi
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 550i xDrive
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fairfield County, CT

Posts: 24
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E60orBust View Post
Anyone experience a lot of false positives with the valentine one? If my V1 is at i-Drive screen or higher (holding it in my hand), I get a constant false positive coming from behind. I've had no choice but to unplug it.

Something in my 550i must be broadcasting a lot of interference.
Do you have the driver assistance package?

I just read on the radardetector.net forums V1 section that someone is having a similar issue. I will find out shortly and will be extremely disappointed if I can not use the V1 in my new 550i xdrive with the driver assistance package (which I added last minute as an option and would have not ordered if it indeed does interfere and give false positives to the V1)
mautzi is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-10-2010, 08:34 PM   #25
E60orBust
Captain
 
Drives: "The Brothers //M-Sport" E90/2
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 649
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mautzi View Post
Do you have the driver assistance package?

I just read on the radardetector.net forums V1 section that someone is having a similar issue. I will find out shortly and will be extremely disappointed if I can not use the V1 in my new 550i xdrive with the driver assistance package (which I added last minute as an option and would have not ordered if it indeed does interfere and give false positives to the V1)
I do and it does. Buck me...

This one? http://www.radardetector.net/forums/...ector-era.html
__________________
Down for Maintenance

Last edited by E60orBust; 10-10-2010 at 08:40 PM. Reason: Link
E60orBust is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-11-2010, 07:42 AM   #26
mautzi
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 550i xDrive
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fairfield County, CT

Posts: 24
iTrader: (0)

well buck me too then! Will this render my V1 useless? I guess I'll find out soon.
mautzi is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-11-2010, 12:05 PM   #27
E60orBust
Captain
 
Drives: "The Brothers //M-Sport" E90/2
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 649
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mautzi View Post
well buck me too then! Will this render my V1 useless? I guess I'll find out soon.
It did for me. Only position I've found where it is not constantly hitting off false alerts is in the seat. Not exactly good range.

I tried mounting it to the bottom of the windshield on top the dash but that also got the false alerts. There might be a 'sweat' spot somewhere in the car but I've yet to find one.
__________________
Down for Maintenance
E60orBust is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2010, 10:47 PM   #28
Grizzles
First Lieutenant
 
Grizzles's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 550XI MSPORT
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NNJ

Posts: 376
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taylorpetie View Post
Hardwiring a radar detector should be the same, whether it's V1 or Escort. I installed an 'add-a-circuit' mini fuse (purchased mine at parts-express.com) to the fuse box (located in the glove compartment). Fuse #48 worked for me. You'll also need a 'direct wire' from Escort (their website escortradar.com has it). For general overview of direct wiring, Youtube has lots of 'how to' for direct wiring the Escort. Hope this helps.
i ran the wire to the fuse box, does anyone have a picture or a detailed connection description for me? its hard to figure out without blowing several fuses.
Grizzles is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-18-2010, 11:28 PM   #29
taylorpetie
Private
 
taylorpetie's Avatar
 
Drives: 550i X-Drive, Dark Graphite II
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CA

Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)

My car is still in the shop, so can't help you identify... But, in your 550 trunk, there is another fuse box to the right side... open it, and there is a white card (that slides out) which shows the diagram for the front and back fuse box. This will help you identify which fuse is #48.
taylorpetie is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-19-2010, 02:10 PM   #30
F10550xi
Private First Class
 
Drives: 550xi ZMP
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 124
iTrader: (0)

Here is a pic of a v1 install in my 330i. I had the installer drill a very small hole in the left side of the rear view mirror housing and run the wire straight across to the v1. This involved removing the plug on one end of the wire to pass it through the hole and reattaching it before plugging into the v1 hardwire kit.
Attached Images
 
F10550xi is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2010, 08:06 AM   #31
Quick11
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 535i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

Which Fuse is #48

I took off the fuse block cover in the glove box and noted that there are about 100 plus fuses on the fuse block.

1. How do you tell which is #48?
2. How do you get to it since it is so far back from the glove box access?

Thanks for any input/help

2011 F10 535I
Quick11 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2010, 11:20 AM   #32
Grizzles
First Lieutenant
 
Grizzles's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 550XI MSPORT
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NNJ

Posts: 376
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quick11 View Post
I took off the fuse block cover in the glove box and noted that there are about 100 plus fuses on the fuse block.

1. How do you tell which is #48?
2. How do you get to it since it is so far back from the glove box access?

Thanks for any input/help

2011 F10 535I
diagram is in the trunk fuse box.

fuse 48 worked for me.
Grizzles is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2010, 12:48 PM   #33
Quick11
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 535i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greensboro, NC

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the reply, I found the fuse list and fuse 48. Now all I have to do is figure a way of getting my extra large meat hooks to it....
Quick11 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-23-2010, 03:34 PM   #34
Bmrmeup
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 535xi, Graphite Grey
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New York City

Posts: 143
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 535xi  [0.00]
Driver to driver it seems to me that you have to pick & choose where & when you put the pedal to the metal. Radar detectors..........I don't trust them. Maybe they are more reliable now....I don't know.
Bmrmeup is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-28-2010, 09:12 AM   #35
x5 '08
New Member
 
Drives: 2008 535xi
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NYC

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taylorpetie View Post
Hardwiring a radar detector should be the same, whether it's V1 or Escort. I installed an 'add-a-circuit' mini fuse (purchased mine at parts-express.com) to the fuse box (located in the glove compartment). Fuse #48 worked for me. You'll also need a 'direct wire' from Escort (their website escortradar.com has it). For general overview of direct wiring, Youtube has lots of 'how to' for direct wiring the Escort. Hope this helps.
Which Escort do you have? I had all sorts of problems with my 9500ci in my 2008 535xi. Pulled it out last week when I returned the car and am waiting for my f10 to come in. Hope to make sure my installed does it right this time.
x5 '08 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-28-2010, 09:17 AM   #36
E60orBust
Captain
 
Drives: "The Brothers //M-Sport" E90/2
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 649
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by F10550xi View Post
Here is a pic of a v1 install in my 330i. I had the installer drill a very small hole in the left side of the rear view mirror housing and run the wire straight across to the v1. This involved removing the plug on one end of the wire to pass it through the hole and reattaching it before plugging into the v1 hardwire kit.
Off-topic; what year is that 330i? That mirror looks like it is from an //M Car.
__________________
Down for Maintenance
E60orBust is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2011, 08:21 AM   #37
fx104elec
Registered
 
Drives: Smart
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Egypt

Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)

Valentine 1 to Nokia mobile via bluetooth

Hi everybody

I see alot of you searching for a place to install the remote display, So i decide to build an electronic project to send the data of valentine 1 to Nokia mobile via bluetooth .
In this case you can put valentine 1 at any place in the car and connect my device with 12v source to it and you can see all data of V1 in your mobile with bluetooth.
Do you find this interesting and worth to build ????
fx104elec is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2011, 02:46 PM   #38
Karrera4
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: Lots of them
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa

Posts: 35
iTrader: (1)

I installed my V1 last week, and cannot remember the fuse I used off the top of my head. I just mounted the control module right behind the door in the glove box fuse panel. I ended up simply pulling the fuse, then sliding it back in with the wire at the same time. I might try one of the mini add-a-fuse for a better connection; however, I did notice something weird yesterday. When I was at a stop light, the auto start/stop cut the engine and when it started bak up, the V1 beeped as if it were starting up too. At the next stop, the engine cut again and I looked up at the V1 to see if it was still on and it was.....however, when the engine fired back up, the V1 still went thru is normal start up function again! Then, on the way to work today, it didnt do it! What the heck is going on? I will check out fuse 48 I think.
Karrera4 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2011, 01:56 PM   #39
1HOT BMR
First Lieutenant
 
1HOT BMR's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 550i 6 sp +'12 35d
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: California

Posts: 347
iTrader: (0)

This is what I did:

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...944&highlight=
1HOT BMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2011, 02:25 PM   #40
vdubturbo
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 535i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Virginia

Posts: 269
iTrader: (0)

Not sure if anyone has seen this, but I always thought this was the ultimate, especially here in VA where radar detectors are illegal.

It's been a while since I've read through the website, so I'm not sure what cars it is available for...

Their Website


__________________
vdubturbo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
550, install, valentine one, valentine v1, wire

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST