2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 F10 Technical Topics Wheels / Tires / Suspension / Brakes Do All F10s Require "Direct" TPMS Sensors in the Wheels?
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-08-2011, 07:54 AM   #1
Bandini3
Reader
 
Bandini3's Avatar
 
Drives: 3er Coupé, MB E-Class
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Northeast

Posts: 61
iTrader: (0)

Do All F10s Require "Direct" TPMS Sensors in the Wheels?

Tire Rack (USA) offers winter packages for various 2011 535/550i configurations, each of which suggests the installation of Tire Pressure Monitoring System sensors inside each wheel/tire. Tire Rack indicates the sensors are OEM standard.

However, the Canadian 5Post forum indicates that Canadian-spec F10s do not have a direct TPMS, but instead rely upon an "indirect" system that reads rotational speeds from the ABS sensors.

It does seem logical that all North American (if not worldwide) cars would have identical setups (i.e. sensors are required for TPMS to function)

Does anyone know?
Bandini3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2011, 09:13 AM   #2
mlai
Colonel
 
mlai's Avatar
 
Drives: 650GC/E93M3/Lexus LS600HL
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 2,346
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandini3 View Post
Tire Rack (USA) offers winter packages for various 2011 535/550i configurations, each of which suggests the installation of Tire Pressure Monitoring System sensors inside each wheel/tire. Tire Rack indicates the sensors are OEM standard.

However, the Canadian 5Post forum indicates that Canadian-spec F10s do not have a direct TPMS, but instead rely upon an "indirect" system that reads rotational speeds from the ABS sensors.

It does seem logical that all North American (if not worldwide) cars would have identical setups (i.e. sensors are required for TPMS to function)

Does anyone know?
I thought direct TPMS is mandatory only in US. We have indirect TPMS here in Asia and most like in Europe. Not worldwide. More like a US thing
__________________
F06 650i Gran Coupe Ruby Black/Dakota Cinamon- 2012-10-12 Adaptive Drive/IAS/Surround View/Adaptive LED/Comfort Seats/BMW 356 Liquid Black/Michelin PSS 245/35R20-285/30R20
E93 M3 Cabriolet Satin Pearl White/CR - 2012/03/12 Bilstein PSS10/ Michelin PSS 245/35R19-265/35R19 Brembo GT
2011 F10 550i M Sport - Retired
mlai is offline   Hong Kong
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2011, 09:38 AM   #3
gatoman39
Major
 
gatoman39's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 335 M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: LA

Posts: 1,346
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
There doesn't seem to be much consistency. Cars vary from country to country. Tire Rack usually knows these things pretty well though...


[/quote]
__________________
gatoman39 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2011, 12:36 PM   #4
Bandini3
Reader
 
Bandini3's Avatar
 
Drives: 3er Coupé, MB E-Class
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Northeast

Posts: 61
iTrader: (0)

US TPMS compared to FTW in Canada?

At this point Tire Rack does not seem to have the answer, so I have placed a hold on my winter package order.

I suspect the 535s and 550s in Canada have the less sophisticated system (Flat Tire Warning), but I am waiting for confirmation from the dealer. The car is being shipped, so I can't examine it myself.

It's conceivable (but unlikely) that Canadian-spec cars have the same TPMS detector module as USA cars and could recognize signals if the USA-style sensors are installed. Tire Rack initially thought so, but now seems uncertain.
Bandini3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2011, 01:00 PM   #5
bobblehead
Brigadier General
 
bobblehead's Avatar
 
Drives: warp speed
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto, On

Posts: 3,449
iTrader: (0)

I am in Canada. No TPMS (mounted inside the wheels) in my factory stock summer & winter wheels at all. Confirmed with BMW Canada & many dealers when I was asking this question over 1 year ago. If things have changed for MY2012 for the Canadian models, then I would not know.

Canada setup is different from US (requirement ?)
bobblehead is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2011, 01:00 PM   #6
Bandini3
Reader
 
Bandini3's Avatar
 
Drives: 3er Coupé, MB E-Class
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Northeast

Posts: 61
iTrader: (0)

Canadian-Spec Cars: No TPMS

The dealer has now confirmed that there are no TPMS sensors on Canadian cars and the cars do not have the control units required to interact with the US sensors.

So, US = TPMS. Canada + ROW (?) = FTW (aka NTPMS)
Bandini3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2011, 04:28 PM   #7
Fantasm
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: SL63
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Orange County, CA

Posts: 209
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gatoman39 View Post
There doesn't seem to be much consistency. Cars vary from country to country. Tire Rack usually knows these things pretty well though...


[/quote]

how do you get pressure and temperature readings to show up???
mine just shows green thats it
__________________
NOW: 2011 Ferrari 458, 2014 BMW M5 w/ CompPack, 2009 MB E350 (EX's), 2005 BMW M3 with Gintani SC&Meth, 2008 Ducati 1098
BEFORE: 24+ Other Awesome Cars - BYE - My Straight Piped Ferrari 458 (plus other mods): http://goo.gl/2qf5fW
Fantasm is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2011, 05:59 PM   #8
gatoman39
Major
 
gatoman39's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 335 M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: LA

Posts: 1,346
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fantasm View Post

how do you get pressure and temperature readings to show up???
mine just shows green thats it
That's a car in Germany. The motherland cars are special like that. Ours only tell you if it's low.
__________________
gatoman39 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2011, 12:06 PM   #9
Big Ben
Registered
 
Drives: e90 m3
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: illinois

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Can u turn this feature off? I ordered aftermarket wheels and I'm wondering if I can just turn them off rather than having the stealer over charge me for a set
Big Ben is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2011, 02:49 PM   #10
gatoman39
Major
 
gatoman39's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 335 M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: LA

Posts: 1,346
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Ben View Post
Can u turn this feature off? I ordered aftermarket wheels and I'm wondering if I can just turn them off rather than having the stealer over charge me for a set
I don't think so, it's a federal mandate in the USA for this technology. I'd like to turn the seat belt ding. I'm moving my car on the other side of the street, I don't need to put on my seat belt to go 50 feet.
__________________
gatoman39 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 AM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST