2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 BMW 5-Series (F10) Forums General 5-Series Sedan and Wagon (F10 / F11) Forum HUD diagnostics pics
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-01-2013, 11:40 AM   #1
AP
Captain
 
AP's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 530d Msport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 664
iTrader: (0)

HUD diagnostics pics

Following on from my earlier thread about the 'hidden' diagnostics for the HUD, I've attached a few sample pictures , they are not great but you'll get the idea. In addition to these there are various primary colour screens, alignment and geometry ones, and more sample screens with all functions on , some of which are Japanese and some German.

To display these just hold down the HUD swithc for aroudn 10- seconds and then each time you press teh switch , each of the sample screens are displayed.

Name:  hud1.jpg
Views: 799
Size:  113.2 KB
Name:  hud2.jpg
Views: 777
Size:  121.3 KB
Name:  hud3.jpg
Views: 746
Size:  115.0 KB
Name:  hud4.jpg
Views: 789
Size:  91.7 KB
Name:  hud5.jpg
Views: 742
Size:  86.2 KB
Name:  hud6.jpg
Views: 730
Size:  74.1 KB

as a matter of curiosity, has anyone in the UK who also has the speed limit display seen the no overtaking symbol displayed in addition to the speed limit? Is this Limited to other countries?
AP is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-02-2013, 06:54 PM   #2
marcosg
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 BMW F10 528i M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sydney - Australia

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Great Pics, thanks for the info. I have tried this on my car (2011 F10 528i MSport) and it works.
Does anyone know how to get the 3D street display (first pic), instead of the normal one (second pic).
Attached Images
  

Last edited by marcosg; 01-02-2013 at 07:01 PM.
marcosg is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-02-2013, 07:16 PM   #3
OzDriver
Private First Class
 
OzDriver's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 535i & '08 530i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Sydney

Posts: 114
iTrader: (0)

Does it change when you put the Navigation display in perspective (3D) view?
OzDriver is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-02-2013, 07:18 PM   #4
marcosg
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 BMW F10 528i M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sydney - Australia

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

No, this setting, changes the map display in the navigation system to 3d perspective not the HUD.
marcosg is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      01-02-2013, 07:42 PM   #5
marsb007
Private
 
marsb007's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 535i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: US

Posts: 50
iTrader: (0)

mine also has some purple render...
I wonder if you can somehow code which one the car uses (like a theme of sorts)...
marsb007 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-02-2013, 09:48 PM   #6
Boulder Bill
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: for fun. Always.
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado

Posts: 213
iTrader: (0)

Fascinating and very cool.

There must be a way!
__________________
2013 F10 550i/6 M-Sport
(retired: 2002 E39 540i/6)
2014 Infiniti QX60 AWD
Boulder Bill is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2013, 03:21 AM   #7
AP
Captain
 
AP's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 530d Msport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 664
iTrader: (0)

I get the 3d exit picture only when exiting motorway junctions, don't see it any otehr time, I get teh "2d" version the remaining times.
Maybe it's to attact your attention?

I also notice the indicators opn some of the sample pictures, I know some have coded this feature on their cars.
AP is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2013, 07:10 AM   #8
AP
Captain
 
AP's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 530d Msport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 664
iTrader: (0)

I too noticed that one of the sample screens had purple text, not sure why that is in there.

So has anyone in the UK seen the don't overtake sign pop up (aspart of the speed limit display fiunction) ?
I've not and am thinking this may be country specific.
AP is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2013, 01:44 PM   #9
gspannu
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 549
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP View Post
I too noticed that one of the sample screens had purple text, not sure why that is in there.

So has anyone in the UK seen the don't overtake sign pop up (aspart of the speed limit display fiunction) ?
I've not and am thinking this may be country specific.
I do have SLI and the 'Do Not Overtake' does pop up when it reads such a sign. I was quite fascinated when I first saw this. I have also seen a 'No throughway' or dead-end sign pop up too.

The SLI is quite cool….
__________________
---
gspannu is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2013, 03:44 PM   #10
AP
Captain
 
AP's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 530d Msport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 664
iTrader: (0)

cool, I wonder what other signs it can read?
AP is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST