2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 F10 Technical Topics Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications chipexpress tuning box for f10 520d. Traceable?
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-02-2011, 04:32 PM   #1
andrew520d
Enlisted Member
4
Rep
40
Posts

 
Drives: f11 520d
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ireland

iTrader: (0)

chipexpress tuning box for f10 520d. Traceable?

I came across a company called chipexpress that make a tuning box that they claim improves performance and economy of the 520d and can be removed and will not be traceable afterwards.
Does anybody know if their claims are correct or if theyare worth having?
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 04:44 PM   #2
Touring
Captain
Touring's Avatar
Norway
27
Rep
929
Posts

 
Drives: F11,i3,E21,Porsche 928GT,E30
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oslo, Norway

iTrader: (0)

its definitely traceable.
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 05:28 PM   #3
deejaygee
Private First Class
2
Rep
172
Posts

 
Drives: 320d M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - Londion

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Touring View Post
its definitely traceable.
Whats your reasoning / crudentials?
Appreciate 0
      02-02-2011, 05:42 PM   #4
Touring
Captain
Touring's Avatar
Norway
27
Rep
929
Posts

 
Drives: F11,i3,E21,Porsche 928GT,E30
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oslo, Norway

iTrader: (0)

Talked to a BMW mechanic about this. It will be logged in the computer when someone is performing an "update "
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2011, 01:58 AM   #5
deejaygee
Private First Class
2
Rep
172
Posts

 
Drives: 320d M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - Londion

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Touring View Post
Talked to a BMW mechanic about this. It will be logged in the computer when someone is performing an "update "
I had the same conversation, and was told the intelligence required is not available yet. Nothing has changed since previous models.
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2011, 02:16 AM   #6
deejaygee
Private First Class
2
Rep
172
Posts

 
Drives: 320d M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK - Londion

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by deejaygee View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Touring View Post
Talked to a BMW mechanic about this. It will be logged in the computer when someone is performing an "update "
I had the same conversation, and was told the intelligence required is not available yet. Nothing has changed since previous models.
Sorry I should have stated with a tuning box. With a remap, again unless investigated will nit be found. Although an update would wipe it!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST