2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 BMW 5-Series (F10) Forums Regional Forums UK Recently bought a 535i.....

07-04-2017, 03:49 PM   #1
Mogwai888
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: iX3

Recently bought a 535i.....

...my first F10.

So I've been a 3 series driver for a while. Most recent car was an E90 330d LCI and that engine was perfect for long commutes as most 30d drivers will no doubt appreciate.

But for me, doing less miles now and having had several petrol straight sixes previously meant the lure to go back to petrol was strong.

Originally was looking for a F30/31 335i or 340i but there weren't many around for my budget. Happened to stumble across a 535i being sold by a BMW dealer in Scotland which they had just got in and after seeing a few photos of it (am based in Southern England) quickly secured the car.

Yes, I effectively bought a car without seeing it or driving it , but the spec was good and had most of the things I wanted. It would also have the benefit of a service and new tyres all round.

I picked up the car after a quick drive and drove it back in one day. The F10s a lovely place to be. Definitely an upgrade in class from an E90 and the quality and refinement is better than an F30. The drive back confirmed that I had made the right choice. It just so cosseting that the 8 hour drive (with a short break) was so effortless.

Appreciate that n55 is superseded by the b58, but it feels so smooth and refined in the F10 and plenty quick enough (for me). A little criticism was that it may be a little too quiet in terms of exhaust noise...........

It just so happened that after I had secured the car, I was browsing a popular auction site and found a M Performance exhaust for sale. After viewing a couple of videos of the exhaust in action a deal was done.