2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 BMW 5-Series (F10) Forums General 5-Series Sedan and Wagon (F10 / F11) Forum 535i vs 528i: not again

04-22-2011, 02:11 AM   #1
bodonx
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2014 F10 M5 CP

535i vs 528i: not again

Hi,

I’m not starting a debate. I just test drove these 3 cars below today. I just want to give my opinions. A little bit of me, I own E46 325i with a sport package and owned B5 and B6 A4 in the past. I drove relatives' E-class, C-class, Lexus GS, E60 before. I’m not an expert about car so excuse my amateur reviews.

I test drove these 3 cars in order:
  1. 528i with SP (no DHP, no sport auto)
  2. 528i with Msport and sport auto
  3. 535i with Msport and sport auto

Car 1 (white/Cinnamon brown)

Negative: The car felt soft and big. As all other 2 cars, it hesitated when you started from stop. It might be due to drive-by-wire crap. Although I could feel more power than my car, it did not give me the thrill when revving the engine to the redline. There was more body roll on the bends. As everybody said, the steering lacks of feedback especially on the center, but no pulling to the right issue. Then, I switched the transmission to the right "sport." It only changed the shifting points and made the steering heavier.

Positive: The ride was very comfortable. I love the interior of this car. BMW has outdone itself with the interior quality and design. They screwed it up on E60. This F10 has a classic BMW driver-oriented cockpit with nice details here and there. The cinnamon brown interior is very nice too. It looks sporty yet luxurious. It should be easier to maintain compared to beige/oyster.

Car 2 (white/oyster) w/ Msport and auto sport

Driving Dynamic