2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 BMW 5-Series (F10) Forums General 5-Series Sedan and Wagon (F10 / F11) Forum 6 Month 535d xDrive M Package Review

12-18-2015, 12:48 PM   #1
raddy
Private
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2015 535d xDrive

6 Month 535d xDrive M Package Review

Hi Everyone,

Hard to believe but I have been driving my 535d xDrive with the M Package for 6 months now. I bought it as a demo model, 2015 with 8,000 kms on it.

This is my first BMW and represented a huge jump for me - as I thought that I would enter brand with a F30.

Now that I am "USED" to owning a BMW, I can be a bit more objective in my review. Although, I won't lie - I feel like "holy s#it, I am driving a bimmer".

Handling/Steering

I only test drove the e60 once and that was a while ago.. Thus I can't really compare it to the F10. But the first thing I really liked about this car is the steering. I always feel like I am in control of the car. And the steering improves as I pick up speed. of course in Sports and Sports + mode the steering is even more fun. Whipping this car around corners is fun once I got used to the length of the car.

Grade - A

Acceleration/Drive

It is really a story of "comfort mode" vs. "sports mode". In comfort mode, the pick up is nice however it could use a bit more ummph. It may be the diesel. I find after the 20 km/h then it takes off in comfort mode. The drive is wonderful. My wife who is often a passenger says it feels like a airplane on the runway. That is until I kick it into sports mode. All I can say is DAMN!!! The speed limit in Ontario, Canada is 100 km/hr although most drivers go 120 km/hr. In sports mode, it is EASY to hit 150 km/hr in no time. I found some back roads and pushed it to 190 km/hr a couple of times. The steering is fantastic here but the push you feel in amazing. The car keeps on giving and giving and giving. In manual mode. OMFG - HEAVEN!