2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 F10 Technical Topics Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications Is it time to retire my beloved 528xi n20?

02-16-2023, 09:21 PM   #1
rshabby
Rep
Drives: 2013 528ix

Is it time to retire my beloved 528xi n20?

I love my 528xi N20, I’ve been driving it for over 5 years and hope many more to come! but I think it may be time to put it away for good. 3 days ago I was accelerating through an intersection when it felt like the brakes auto engaged or the engine lost complete combustion power for a second. It threw me and wife forward and then back into our seats. Not going to lie, this scared me a bit but played it cool in front of her. Then about 24 hours later I was driving to the local drug store, taking off from a red light It stalled on me, was able to roll into a driveway. I tried many times to turn the engine over but wouldn’t start. I was able to push it to a safe spot and the wife picked me up to get my Carly to run my diagnostic. when getting back to my car I tried to start it first and behold, it's started without an issue and was able to drive it back home.
I've uploaded the pdf from carly with all the diagnostic data.

part of me is wondering either i have a bad battery not supplying enough juice to the components or I have serious electrical issue.

any advice would be greatly appreciated.
thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: pdf FR_2023-02-14_22-34-20.pdf (476.2 KB, 50 views)
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2023, 09:23 PM   #2
rshabby
Rep

of note this happened at mile 202842
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2023, 09:46 PM   #3
TZ
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2011 535i xDrive, 2014 435i CO

Very high mileage! Has the battery ever been replaced?

Service Manual: www.newtis.info
Part: http://www.realoem.com
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2023, 10:27 PM   #4
rshabby
Rep