2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 F10 Technical Topics DIY Guides & Discussions DIY-wrapping shark fin antenna (Updated with new photos)

04-19-2015, 02:05 PM   #1
jasonle89
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2013 bmw 528i

DIY-wrapping shark fin antenna (Updated with new photos)

Guys,

Just want to share with you the method i used to wrap my shark fin antenna. Again, this is just to show you the method, i didn't do a very good job since i worked under the sun and it's...too hot LOL. I will redo when my vinyl arrive next week. OK so first thing first, i'm using Knifeless tape. For those who want to know what that mean, PLEASE WATCH THIS VIDEO (this is how i get the idea)

NOTE: i'm no pro. Just like to do it, so don't blame me if it doesn't hold up for yearssss

Things you need:
Hair dryer/heat gun
Knife
Vinyl
Squeegee/credit card

So i assume you just what that video above. And finish cleaning the surface

Step 1 (photo 1) (sorry, don't know how to put caption/note for each photo): Apply 2 lines of Knifeless tape as in the photo. Use heat to make sure the tape secured well in to the surface

Step 2 (photo 2) heat the vinyl. Have a friend help you to hold one end or simply just attach one end to the car and hold the other side, then heat it up. When vinyl starting to turn soft. Drop the whole piece from the top of the antenna. Some starting to wrap from one side and then pull it for the other side. I found that will create too much wrinkles due to the shape of the antenna.

So...drop it down from the top, start to use squeegee or you can just use your thumb to work the surface. When you done with one side, move to the other side. Use squeegee to work the corners/edges.

Make sure the vinyl will go over the 2 Knifeless tapes line

Step 3 (photo 3) you now will have something like in my photo. See the line i point at? THIS LINE WILL BE PULL FIRST.