2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 BMW 5-Series (F10) Forums General 5-Series Sedan and Wagon (F10 / F11) Forum Got Rear-ended

01-16-2017, 04:00 PM   #1
jeutaryo
Rep
Drives: 2013 BMW 528i

Got Rear-ended

Hi,

I have a 2013 BMW 528i. Two night ago, I was rear-ended by a 3 series. The driver admitted fault and the police was also there to make a report. Her car was quite damaged until it could not be started. My car has its rear bumper damaged, parking sensors don't work, and a restraint system warning. Her insurance (geico) already called me and set up an appointment to look at the car.

My question is, how do you usually handle the insurance. Do they deal with the body shop directly or do they pay me in advance? Any tips would be helpful as this is my first time handling something like this.

Many thanks!
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2017, 04:19 PM   #2
Bbb34
Major
Canada
Rep
Drives: '11 535i 6sp. DHP/RWD

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeutaryo View Post
Hi,

I have a 2013 BMW 528i. Two night ago, I was rear-ended by a 3 series. The driver admitted fault and the police was also there to make a report. Her car was quite damaged until it could not be started. My car has its rear bumper damaged, parking sensors don't work, and a restraint system warning. Her insurance (geico) already called me and set up an appointment to look at the car.

My question is, how do you usually handle the insurance. Do they deal with the body shop directly or do they pay me in advance? Any tips would be helpful as this is my first time handling something like this.

Many thanks!
Depends on type of coverage you have.
Also it might be different for your state, but this is how it usually works.