2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 BMW 5-Series (F10) Forums Regional Forums UK Approved used bodywork standards

10-13-2016, 05:29 PM   #1
Frankie810
Rep
Drives: LCI 530d M sport

Hi all, I'm new to the 5 series having just moved up from MY59 320d msport to a MY63 530d msport last Friday. The 530 was an approved used with only 16k and finished in sophisto grey with sport plus package and pro nav.
When I first seen the car it had just been drove from croydon to Durham so had a bit of road grime on but still look very tidy. Now part of the deal was as it had oyster leather and I've got two kids, that they would put the full guardX treatment on to protect the interior. I wasn't bothered about the paint protection as I've heard it's poor but as it was for free i though why not but asked for assurance that the car would be properly prepped before application (you'd think was a given) to which they said of course our technicians are highly trained! So day of pick up and it's sunny but my cars just in the shade and it looks gleaming so I'm happy. The next day as it's sunny again I decide to walk around and just stare at it and found about 10 surface scratches, the left corners of both the front and rear bumpers look like they been resprayed to a satin finish, the rear passenger door has clouding in the lacour where someone's tried and failed to remove a scratch and then it looks like someone's tried to run a machine polisher down the body line then hold it under the passenger mirror. Gutted to say the least. Took the car straight to a local detailer who said on top of the issues above the paint felt like a mountain range and doubted weather the car had ever been polish, ever. So I phoned and complained and the dealer is picking the car up tomorrow to have a look at it?