2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 F10 Technical Topics Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications Juice Box aka JB3 stage 1 for N55...initial impressions
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-17-2011, 10:20 PM   #45
blackberrycubed
Private First Class
United_States
3

 
Drives: 535i Xdrive
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CA


Posts: 155
iTrader: (1)

Are you guys placing the main JB3 control unit in the ECU box by removing the cowl etc? Or is there a better place outside, tuck it somewhere? which will also make usb upgrade\change easier.

Guys post up pictures where you tucked it? Thanks
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2011, 07:58 PM   #46
blackberrycubed
Private First Class
United_States
3

 
Drives: 535i Xdrive
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CA


Posts: 155
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AKSteve View Post
It's actually pretty easy to install, except for the MAP sensor. Your option with that one is to either remove the airbox or spend a frustrating period of time trying to get at it with the airbox in place. I wasn't interested in taking my airbox out just for this install, so I went ahead and installed it with the airbox in the way.

First I pulled the airbox up as high as I could by hand, then stuffed a tall, empty plastic water bottle in to hold it up. Then I lifted up the tubes of cables that are strapped to the side of the airbox and moved them out of the way. With the cables out of the way, it's not that hard to slide a thin butter knife or something in there from the side to unclip the original cable from the sensor.

At this point, no matter how frustrating it is, you will motivate yourself to get the JB3 cable in place because your car is now undriveable until you do. I put a blanket across the top of my engine and laid on top of it so I could get into a good position to slide my hand in there and wrestle with getting everything in place. If you have a set of long needle-nose pliers or something like that, it might be easier. Or, if you have small hands, it might not be hard to do it by hand.

In any case, now that i have it installed, I don't plan on messing with it until my next visit to the dealer in 6,000 miles or so. This isn't something you want to do very often. The top photo is a view of the MAP sensor partially tucked underneath the back of the airbox. The second photo is a view from the side after propping up the airbox and moving the attached cables out of the way.
Thanks for posting the pic and giving those tips, it helped alot when I did the MAP sensor. I now have it installed and no codes but do not know where to hide the jb3 brain unit. Where did you put yours and how did you get to that location? You got any pics?

Thanks in Advance.
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2011, 09:40 PM   #47
Snowrider
New Member
United_States
1

 
Drives: 2011 535i Xdrive Msport
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NYC


Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

I finally installed mine as well. The map sensor gave me all types of issues. A butter knife did wonders though. I took the car for a spin shortly after, vroom vroom. Car has a significant kick and I feel the shifting is now much cleaner.

Regarding storing the brain unit, where did everyone place there's? I decided to tuck it behind the wires facing the maf sensor.
Obviously the install looked nothing like the video, nor could I find an actual ecu box.
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2011, 01:45 AM   #48
jaekeem
BMW Noobie
United_States
18

 
jaekeem's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 535i 2011
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Socal, USA


Posts: 309
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackberrycubed View Post
Are you guys placing the main JB3 control unit in the ECU box by removing the cowl etc? Or is there a better place outside, tuck it somewhere? which will also make usb upgrade\change easier.

Guys post up pictures where you tucked it? Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackberrycubed View Post
Thanks for posting the pic and giving those tips, it helped alot when I did the MAP sensor. I now have it installed and no codes but do not know where to hide the jb3 brain unit. Where did you put yours and how did you get to that location? You got any pics?

Thanks in Advance.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowrider View Post
I finally installed mine as well. The map sensor gave me all types of issues. A butter knife did wonders though. I took the car for a spin shortly after, vroom vroom. Car has a significant kick and I feel the shifting is now much cleaner.

Regarding storing the brain unit, where did everyone place there's? I decided to tuck it behind the wires facing the maf sensor.
Obviously the install looked nothing like the video, nor could I find an actual ecu box.
if you pop the hood and look on the passenger side there is a plastic cover on the top left. You can remove those covers since the are clipped on. Then you can get a bit creative on how to place the device in the box.

In my opinion this is not a 15 min install. Plug and play yes.... If you want a clean install take your time placing the brain unit in a good spot.
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2011, 09:05 AM   #49
Softwareguy14
New Member
1

 
Drives: 2011 535i M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Newport Beach Ca


Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

JB1

Guys,

I have an early build 2011 535 (bought in early Dec2010) and I'm very close to pulling the trigger on this but just wanted to listen to a few more opinions on the good, bad, and ugly of installing this... Of course my concern is not the costs ($425 installed for 30 horses?) but the affect on the warranty. Thanks for the help!
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2011, 08:13 PM   #50
blackberrycubed
Private First Class
United_States
3

 
Drives: 535i Xdrive
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CA


Posts: 155
iTrader: (1)

anyone done 0 to 60 with the stage 1? hopefully big improvement over the stock 5.9!
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2011, 08:28 PM   #51
78mao
Major
Taiwan
33

 
78mao's Avatar
 
Drives: F10, F13, F80 en route to US
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Socal/Irvine


Posts: 1,035
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2015 M3 BMW M3  [0.00]
im getting my unit installed this week

maybe i will borrow my friends vbox and see how fast from 0 to 60 is.
__________________

thanks to www.lmted.com
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2011, 11:42 AM   #52
jaekeem
BMW Noobie
United_States
18

 
jaekeem's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 535i 2011
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Socal, USA


Posts: 309
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 78mao View Post
im getting my unit installed this week

maybe i will borrow my friends vbox and see how fast from 0 to 60 is.
You should alex! I'll try it too to compare
__________________


2011 F10 535i | Build Thread | Power Mods & Dynos
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2011, 04:55 PM   #53
Bill Bonney
New Member
0

 
Drives: 535i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: N. Cal


Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

I'm considering a Dinan software upgrade when my 535i arrives next month. My question is....

If I get the Dinan software tune, can the dealer tell it's there? It seems if the dealer updates the car software, blowing away the Dinan tune, then I can go back to Dinan for a reinstall at little or no cost.

FWIW, I would be going to the Pleasanton, CA shop. If there are any pros/cons, I'd like to know.
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2011, 05:55 PM   #54
blackberrycubed
Private First Class
United_States
3

 
Drives: 535i Xdrive
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CA


Posts: 155
iTrader: (1)

there is no dinan tune for the 535i as of yet....
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2011, 06:14 PM   #55
Bill Bonney
New Member
0

 
Drives: 535i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: N. Cal


Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Ah yes, I saw that.

It would have been better if I asked the question generically. Are the Dinan tunes, in general, detectable while being service at the dealer?
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2011, 03:44 PM   #56
jaekeem
BMW Noobie
United_States
18

 
jaekeem's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 535i 2011
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Socal, USA


Posts: 309
iTrader: (0)

I honestly believe no matter what you do it will be detectable. So tunes should be used at your discretion.

For me I really like my stg1 at the moment.
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2011, 07:46 PM   #57
Needsdecaf
Everything's Bigger in Texas!
25

 
Drives: Porsche Tractor
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: The Woodlands, TX


Posts: 1,953
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Bonney View Post
Ah yes, I saw that.

It would have been better if I asked the question generically. Are the Dinan tunes, in general, detectable while being service at the dealer?
Yes, it is.

The whole point of paying for the Dinan tune is that they will warranty anything that BMW doesn't due to their tune.
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2011, 11:46 AM   #58
Bill Bonney
New Member
0

 
Drives: 535i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: N. Cal


Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Thank you.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2011, 01:52 PM   #59
blackberrycubed
Private First Class
United_States
3

 
Drives: 535i Xdrive
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CA


Posts: 155
iTrader: (1)

Common guys ! post 0 to 60 already !
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2011, 12:31 AM   #60
eurotechnik
M POWER
United_States
1

 
eurotechnik's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 808


Posts: 87
iTrader: (1)

Appreciate 0
      07-10-2011, 04:17 AM   #61
jaekeem
BMW Noobie
United_States
18

 
jaekeem's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 535i 2011
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Socal, USA


Posts: 309
iTrader: (0)

Just wanted to share with you my times with the vbox I borrowed from my friend. In all I've done 8 pulls 0-60 and I keep spinning tires in first.

First three runs 5.8 / 6.1 / 5.8 seconds

Runs four and five were 5.4 / 5.4 seconds and 30-50mph was 2.1 seconds. This was done Saturday morning.

Then I did three runs just now on the way home 5.4 / 5.3 / 5.5 seconds up to 60, and the best 30-50 time was 1.9 seconds.

I'm slowly starting to get the hang of taking off from a stop. Interesting thing is the first three runs were done without holding down the brake and gassing. But once I started holding down the brake and letting the car rev up and build boost it made a huge difference.

My biggest problem is keeping the tires from spinning once I take off. The other thing I noticed when holding the brake and gas was that the car would hit a max rev differently everytime. My fastest time was when the car revved up over 2.5k rpm but the other ones was 1.8-2k.

Figured since you guys wanted to know that I'd try a few runs for you all.
__________________


2011 F10 535i | Build Thread | Power Mods & Dynos
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2011, 01:08 PM   #62
blackberrycubed
Private First Class
United_States
3

 
Drives: 535i Xdrive
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CA


Posts: 155
iTrader: (1)

Thanks Jakeem !!!

What boost are you running ? Those times seem to be on the slow side. I was expecting with the default boost (2.75) 5.2 or under.
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2011, 09:50 PM   #63
jaekeem
BMW Noobie
United_States
18

 
jaekeem's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 535i 2011
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Socal, USA


Posts: 309
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackberrycubed View Post
Thanks Jakeem !!!

What boost are you running ? Those times seem to be on the slow side. I was expecting with the default boost (2.75) 5.2 or under.
Default boost setting I received from Terry was 3.5 psi. The setting I did those runs with were at 4.5 psi over stock.

If 5.2 seconds or faster is what you were thinking then I don't think stage one would be the answer. My dyno review showed changes from stock boost to 3.5 over stock as <30hp.
__________________


2011 F10 535i | Build Thread | Power Mods & Dynos
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2011, 09:55 PM   #64
jaekeem
BMW Noobie
United_States
18

 
jaekeem's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 535i 2011
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Socal, USA


Posts: 309
iTrader: (0)

The inside line review I read said 5.9 seconds for a stock 535. So I think my times came in pretty close and a decent change from stock
__________________


2011 F10 535i | Build Thread | Power Mods & Dynos
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2011, 02:18 AM   #65
blackberrycubed
Private First Class
United_States
3

 
Drives: 535i Xdrive
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CA


Posts: 155
iTrader: (1)

Jakeem: I have been reading that people are putting down better numbers with the boost set to 3.0 on california gas 91. Also read that the turbo lag is much reduced with the lower boost setting.

If you get a chance, try doing a couple of runs with 3.0...

Regardless, thanks for taking the time out and doing the testing.
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2011, 11:31 AM   #66
jaekeem
BMW Noobie
United_States
18

 
jaekeem's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 535i 2011
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Socal, USA


Posts: 309
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackberrycubed View Post
Jakeem: I have been reading that people are putting down better numbers with the boost set to 3.0 on california gas 91. Also read that the turbo lag is much reduced with the lower boost setting.

If you get a chance, try doing a couple of runs with 3.0...

Regardless, thanks for taking the time out and doing the testing.
Sure thing I'll set boost to 3.0 and get a few runs in. Maybe with that setting there will be less wheel spin in first.

*crossing fingers*
__________________


2011 F10 535i | Build Thread | Power Mods & Dynos
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST