2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 BMW 5-Series (F10) Forums General 5-Series Sedan and Wagon (F10 / F11) Forum Anyone using a Brodit Clip?
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-20-2012, 10:26 AM   #1
A900ss
Private First Class
A900ss's Avatar
United Kingdom
3
Rep
143
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 520d Touring
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

iTrader: (0)

Anyone using a Brodit Clip?

I get a new F11 in a few weeks but unfortunately the budget wouldn't stretch to include Nav.

Now as I do a lot of miles I do need Nav and am currently using Tomtom on my Iphone. I will use the same system in the F11 when it is delivered but to make it as tidy as possible I am going to hard-wire an iphone mount in.

So my question is, has anybody used a Brodit Pro-Clip in their F10/F11? Thoughts most welcome.

I am very interested to know if anybody has used this clip: http://www.car-mounts.co.uk/proddeta...?prod=634458_4

It sits lower than the clip that goes up near the air vents so would look tidier. My only worry is that it might be too low to be of any use for Nav.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2012, 03:16 PM   #2
kave
First Lieutenant
Sweden
7
Rep
327
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 520D Touring 2012
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I use the regular one for my iPhone. Look in my gallery. It works perfekt. The clip comes with adhesive tape on it, which I didnt use.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2012, 03:17 PM   #3
darrko
First Lieutenant
No_Country
9
Rep
398
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F10 520d
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: K

iTrader: (1)

You know, I am planning to get that exact same mount.....but for my phone. I think that may be a bit too low to use as a nav mount since it may require you to take your eyes off the road for a tab bit too long, as compared to the other option where the mount is on the vents?
__________________

Appreciate 0
      04-20-2012, 03:22 PM   #4
darrko
First Lieutenant
No_Country
9
Rep
398
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F10 520d
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: K

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kave View Post
I use the regular one for my iPhone. Look in my gallery. It works perfekt. The clip comes with adhesive tape on it, which I didnt use.
Do you by any chance use the mount with the fixed charging cable as opposed to the coiled cigarette lighter one? I am wondering where that goes for power source.
__________________

Appreciate 0
      04-21-2012, 02:17 AM   #5
mercury
Private First Class
5
Rep
140
Posts

 
Drives: F10 535i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 535i  [4.63]
I have the mount and think you're right, it's a little low and probably distracting for nav. I use it for easy dialing access and such. Also got a flush USB cig lighter charger and a short cable for power.
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2012, 07:04 AM   #6
PeterF11
Private
PeterF11's Avatar
Netherlands
1
Rep
91
Posts

 
Drives: F11 5.28i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Amsterdam

iTrader: (0)

I use the vent version with a tomtom. Looks quite nice if i say so myself.
I had it custom installed, including some sawing and screwing.
I cannot move the mount anymore but it is attached very flat to the vent
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2012, 08:23 AM   #7
A900ss
Private First Class
A900ss's Avatar
United Kingdom
3
Rep
143
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 520d Touring
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterF11 View Post
I use the vent version with a tomtom. Looks quite nice if i say so myself.
I had it custom installed, including some sawing and screwing.
I cannot move the mount anymore but it is attached very flat to the vent
Any chance of a photo?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2012, 02:40 PM   #8
Mobileum
Private
Norway
0
Rep
74
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 520D F10
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

I would recommend this one. I have a short cable to the cigarette outlet under the right side of the dash.

http://brodit.se/product.html?id=834...0F11&year=2011
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2012, 02:15 PM   #9
lfcsimon
Registered
1
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 520d AW Sport Auto
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lancs

iTrader: (0)

Hi

http://f10.5post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=656731


Please see my earlier thread as I have the Brodit Air vent mount and it is really robust - need an M5 to pull it off - you can also really easily hard wire behind the trim. IMHO the mount near the I drive is far too low for Nav

Hope it helps
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2012, 11:59 PM   #10
Amleto63
Commander
Amleto63's Avatar
Italy
6
Rep
210
Posts

 
Drives: F10 520d Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pisa

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to Amleto63
Quote:
Originally Posted by A900ss
I get a new F11 in a few weeks but unfortunately the budget wouldn't stretch to include Nav.

Now as I do a lot of miles I do need Nav and am currently using Tomtom on my Iphone. I will use the same system in the F11 when it is delivered but to make it as tidy as possible I am going to hard-wire an iphone mount in.

So my question is, has anybody used a Brodit Pro-Clip in their F10/F11? Thoughts most welcome.

I am very interested to know if anybody has used this clip: http://www.car-mounts.co.uk/proddeta...?prod=634458_4

It sits lower than the clip that goes up near the air vents so would look tidier. My only worry is that it might be too low to be of any use for Nav.

Thanks
I do not understand. We drive one of the safest car in the world (head-up display, active breaking, etc.) and we undermine all the safety measures with a navigator display close to our feet?
__________________
Stay Ahead!
E46(00-03) - E46 Touring (03-06) - E90(06-10)
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2012, 04:57 AM   #11
PeterF11
Private
PeterF11's Avatar
Netherlands
1
Rep
91
Posts

 
Drives: F11 5.28i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Amsterdam

iTrader: (0)

Hi, sorry for the delay, but attached some snapshots of my tomtom installation. It looks quite good in real-life I must say.
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2012, 05:00 AM   #12
darrko
First Lieutenant
No_Country
9
Rep
398
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F10 520d
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: K

iTrader: (1)

Nice and clean. Sorry for going OT: what does the button under the "Mode" button do?
__________________

Appreciate 0
      04-25-2012, 11:00 AM   #13
A900ss
Private First Class
A900ss's Avatar
United Kingdom
3
Rep
143
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 520d Touring
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

iTrader: (0)

That does look much better than I was expecting.

I've now ordered the same clip as you have in your photos but I need to dock an Iphone so have chosen a different mount. It will be hard wired similar to yourw with all the wires behind the dash.

Roll on delivery.....
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2012, 11:53 AM   #14
PeterF11
Private
PeterF11's Avatar
Netherlands
1
Rep
91
Posts

 
Drives: F11 5.28i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Amsterdam

iTrader: (0)

darkko, that button switches the traffic information on and off
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2012, 12:06 PM   #15
darrko
First Lieutenant
No_Country
9
Rep
398
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F10 520d
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: K

iTrader: (1)

Oh ok...thanks.
__________________

Appreciate 0
      04-25-2012, 05:27 PM   #16
s2kdagjd
First Lieutenant
s2kdagjd's Avatar
8
Rep
329
Posts

 
Drives: F10 550i M-Sport IB
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: LA

iTrader: (4)

look into kuda mounts~
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2012, 04:00 PM   #17
kiltoom
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 520D
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Europe - Ireland

iTrader: (0)

brodit clip

2 more photos (a little late... Sorry !!)
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2012, 04:05 PM   #18
A900ss
Private First Class
A900ss's Avatar
United Kingdom
3
Rep
143
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 520d Touring
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

iTrader: (0)

Very neat.

I've now ordered the brodit clip as per your photos.

As an aside, you obviously don't have Nav but does your idrive still have the 'Office' option in the menu?

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2012, 04:25 PM   #19
kiltoom
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 520D
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Europe - Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Yes the option is there, all thats in it when you go into it is my address book with all my contacts details.
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2012, 04:58 PM   #20
A900ss
Private First Class
A900ss's Avatar
United Kingdom
3
Rep
143
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 520d Touring
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

iTrader: (0)

Thanks.

I assume you're not using a blackberry. From research I think it integrates best with a blackberry.
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2012, 11:51 PM   #21
darrko
First Lieutenant
No_Country
9
Rep
398
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F10 520d
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: K

iTrader: (1)

I can see another mount below, I assume for your phone. Which one is that?
__________________

Appreciate 0
      04-27-2012, 08:05 AM   #22
kiltoom
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 520D
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Europe - Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Using a Samsung Galaxy 2, with Brodit ProClip Mount (# 634458) & interchangeable cradle

http://www.mountonus.com
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST