2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 BMW 5-Series (F10) Forums Regional Forums UK drl rear lights?
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-20-2012, 06:10 AM   #1
AP
Captain
 
AP's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 530d Msport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 650
iTrader: (0)

drl rear lights?

Thought drls in the uk meant rear lights on aswell?
My new 2012 model doesn't
Just curious as I thought rear were also on for f10s
AP is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-20-2012, 08:16 AM   #2
eskdale
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 520d M Sport Touring F11
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gloucestershire UK

Posts: 205
iTrader: (0)

My 2012 F11 doesn't have the rear drls either. Although according to some other thread you can enable them with coding

Jon
eskdale is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-20-2012, 10:43 AM   #3
AP
Captain
 
AP's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 530d Msport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 650
iTrader: (0)

yeh , I thnk its a recent change.
AP is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-22-2012, 03:28 PM   #4
en1gma
Private
 
en1gma's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 520d M-Sport
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP
Thought drls in the uk meant rear lights on aswell?
My new 2012 model doesn't
Just curious as I thought rear were also on for f10s
Yeah, my E60 used to have rear DRLs, but not so the new F10.

I also miss the 'theatre' of the front and back LEDs coming on when you unlocked the car whilst the light switch was on auto...
en1gma is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-22-2012, 04:43 PM   #5
AP
Captain
 
AP's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 530d Msport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 650
iTrader: (0)

It does as long as you have welcome lights ticked and light switch in auto or dipped beam when you unlock. At least on mine it does (I have xenons)
AP is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-22-2012, 05:19 PM   #6
premiertuning
New Member
 
Drives: F10 520D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Halifax, UK

Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)

Same here, I have factory HID's and my rear and front lights come on when I unlock the car.. but there is no rear DRL's on the rear.
premiertuning is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-24-2012, 04:12 PM   #7
en1gma
Private
 
en1gma's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 520d M-Sport
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP
It does as long as you have welcome lights ticked and light switch in auto or dipped beam when you unlock. At least on mine it does (I have xenons)
Only had my car about three weeks, and with the decent amount of daylight in London this time of year/not really travelled in the evenings as yet - I'll check this tomorrow.

Or I might sneak a peak tonight before going to bed...
en1gma is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2012, 03:51 PM   #8
Rochdale Pioneers
First Lieutenant
 
Rochdale Pioneers's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 520d SE
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Stockton on Tees UK

Posts: 371
iTrader: (0)

I am a biog fan of running lights, but get hacked off when people think this means they don't need lights on. Yes you have pretty LEDs at the front. But you have nothing on the back.....
__________________
Had: E91 320d ES Titanium Silver
Now: F10 520d SE Alpine White, Cinnamon Brown leather, Business speakers
Rochdale Pioneers is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-09-2012, 01:46 PM   #9
gspannu
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 538
iTrader: (0)

The UK 2012 models do not have DRL at rear enabled.

You can do this via coding by changing the DRL_MODUS Function under FRM 3050 section. I believe the default value is TFL_S_ohne_SL (werte=7) and this needs to be changed to TFL_S (werte=4).

The above description is for Xenons only; for the 2012 UK F10 models.
__________________
---
gspannu is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-09-2012, 02:11 PM   #10
AP
Captain
 
AP's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 530d Msport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 650
iTrader: (0)

thanks, I'm in the processof asking my local dealer if they can do this as I don't want to invalidate my warranty. Asked for thsi and auto stop start to be set to rember last setting. Waiting for them to get back , showed them vrious threads from here and said it was possible although unoffical. He said whenever a car is hooked up to their systems it downloads all of the settings up to BMW so they are aware of any 'differences'
is suspect that their software masks out various settings and only shows what BMW want people / dealers to be able to change.

Why did BMW change this out of curiosity - any ideas?
AP is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-09-2012, 05:09 PM   #11
gspannu
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 538
iTrader: (0)

I doubt your dealer will do this. Here is a written response my dealer got from BMW UK (in relation to the Auto Stop feature).

Quote:
Hi Barry
We are unable to change the design functionality of MSA. The customer should have been given the opportunity of evaluating this feature prior to purchase, and plays a significant part of our Efficient Dynamics programme, providing lower emissions and a lower tax bracket.
Regards
Mike.
BMW Group UK
Technical Manager
… but you never know, your dealer may fare better,

I can confirm that the DRL rear lights modification works, I have just done it to a car (30 minutes back & tested).

Regarding dealer knowing about modifications; they only know about it if you generate any error codes. So far, FRM module programming does not generate any error codes - so should not be an issue.

Reprogramming the "Kombi" module (for HUD mods) does generate an error code; and there is a possibility that the dealer may notice this - although unlikely. There is no known method of erasing these error codes (for now); hence I have put off making any modifications that require Kombi module - the rest I'm quite happy to play around...

However, the DRL change is fairly safe.
__________________
---
gspannu is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2012, 11:16 AM   #12
AP
Captain
 
AP's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 530d Msport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 650
iTrader: (0)

thanks well have to pop in to my dealer on tuesday to get my tracking sorted (its tracks to the left) so no harm in asking. Sure they could do the DRL if not the auto stop start.
AP is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2012, 01:41 PM   #13
gspannu
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 538
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP View Post
thanks well have to pop in to my dealer on tuesday to get my tracking sorted (its tracks to the left) so no harm in asking. Sure they could do the DRL if not the auto stop start.
I doubt your dealer would agree to the DRL either; dealers would not want to alter anything that is non standard. Give it a try anyway.

Digressing a little....

I would also be interested in how the dealer solves your 'track to left' problem - please write back whether they did a software fix or did they fix it via wheel alignment/ tracking. The forums are full of track left issues and the answer seems to a service update that fixes the electric steering.

I think mine too has a track to left issue, but am not too sure - have only driven 150 miles, mainly on slow roads; so am not too sure whether it's a steering issue, wheel alignment or simply a tyre pressure issue.
__________________
---
gspannu is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2012, 02:06 PM   #14
AP
Captain
 
AP's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 530d Msport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 650
iTrader: (0)

will do , I've checked the pressures (first thing I did) .
if you take your hands off the wheel , it always veers off to the left, not dangerously, but a nuisance and surely causing tyre wear.
Expect camber to have that effect but its more noticeable on motorways.
My E39 never did this so I don't expect my F10 to do that either.
It only 3weeks old now so I'd liek to think it has the latest software so my guess is that the tracking is out a bit. Assumed this would be checked during the PDI, guess not.
AP is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2012, 04:32 AM   #15
gspannu
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 538
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP View Post

/snip

It only 3weeks old now so I'd liek to think it has the latest software so my guess is that the tracking is out a bit. Assumed this would be checked during the PDI, guess not.
Hmm.. not too sure about BMW software. My last car (Coupe 2009) has Satnav maps from 2008 when I bought it brand new. I complained to the dealer and I got a free update - so I'm not convinced about latest software. The reason given was that each component has its own software and maybe the component (for the SatNav) had been from old stock… Not convinced but plausible.

However, the car's firmware should be latest (as it is a different thing from the SatNav unit).

Regarding checking tracking/ alignment during PDI - I do not think the dealers do any check for this… do post in your results.
__________________
---
gspannu is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2012, 05:24 AM   #16
sunnyUK
Private
 
Drives: F10 520d
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK

Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)

What S/W are you using to modify these parameters?
sunnyUK is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2012, 07:22 AM   #17
en1gma
Private
 
en1gma's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 520d M-Sport
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK

Posts: 66
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by en1gma
Quote:
Originally Posted by AP
It does as long as you have welcome lights ticked and light switch in auto or dipped beam when you unlock. At least on mine it does (I have xenons)
Only had my car about three weeks, and with the decent amount of daylight in London this time of year/not really travelled in the evenings as yet - I'll check this tomorrow.

Or I might sneak a peak tonight before going to bed...
Have to have 'welcome light' option checked for this to work :-( just having the light switch on auto doesn't do the trick. Although that seems to enable the 'diamond' button on the key fob to turn the lights on for a short while (same effect as I want when I unlock the car) - didn't work before.
en1gma is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2012, 02:17 PM   #18
gspannu
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 538
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnyUK View Post
What S/W are you using to modify these parameters?
E-Sys v3.18 with the PSDZData v46.3 dat files.
__________________
---
gspannu is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2012, 02:20 PM   #19
gspannu
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 538
iTrader: (0)

F10 models of 2010 and 2011 had rear lights enabled with DRL.
F10 models of 2012 have rear lights disabled with DRL.

The parameter to change is in the Function DRL_MODUS via coding.
__________________
---
gspannu is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2012, 04:59 AM   #20
sunnyUK
Private
 
Drives: F10 520d
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK

Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)

Thanks - i will give it a try
sunnyUK is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2012, 06:04 AM   #21
gspannu
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 538
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnyUK View Post
Thanks - i will give it a try
If you need any help, give a shout….
__________________
---
gspannu is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2012, 06:05 AM   #22
gspannu
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 538
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP View Post
will do , I've checked the pressures (first thing I did) .
if you take your hands off the wheel , it always veers off to the left, not dangerously, but a nuisance and surely causing tyre wear.
Expect camber to have that effect but its more noticeable on motorways.
My E39 never did this so I don't expect my F10 to do that either.
It only 3weeks old now so I'd liek to think it has the latest software so my guess is that the tracking is out a bit. Assumed this would be checked during the PDI, guess not.
Any update as to how your dealer is fixing the 'Track too left' issue….
__________________
---
gspannu is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST