2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 BMW 5-Series (F10) Forums General 5-Series Sedan and Wagon (F10 / F11) Forum TPMS doesn't warn which tyre is down?
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-29-2012, 03:45 AM   #1
AP
Captain
AP's Avatar
17
Rep
679
Posts

 
Drives: F10 530d Msport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

TPMS doesn't warn which tyre is down?

Got a warning the otehr night statig that a tyre had lost pressure.
looking at the display I had all 4 tyres dsiplayed as yellow.
popped into a garage and put some air in again to ensure the right pressures were there, reinitilaised the system and warnings have gone.

my issue is if the system thinks a tyre has lost pressure, why doesn't it tell me which one it is?
Visually, I couldn't tell

I know form people coding here on thes forums, you can get system to display presures and temperatures but why doesn't BMW do this by default?

Am I missing something here?
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2012, 06:00 AM   #2
MPH
Private First Class
United Kingdom
4
Rep
134
Posts

 
Drives: F10 530D SE 2013 Imperial Blue
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Wales

iTrader: (0)

Are you talking about the standard run flat tyre deflation warning or the optional Tyre Pressure Moniiter (2VB)? The info on the Tyre Pressure Monitor seems to show it monitoring and displaying the temperature and pressure of each individual tyre. I ordered this assuming it monitors and displays info on each tyre because I'm fed up checking the pressure on my 19" low profile run flats every other week on my E92.
__________________
F10 530d SE. Imperial Blue Xirallic. Venetian Beige. Adaptive Drive and lots of toys!
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2012, 12:04 PM   #3
AP
Captain
AP's Avatar
17
Rep
679
Posts

 
Drives: F10 530d Msport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

just the standard one. So you have to specify the option just to get it to tell which tyre is low even though it must know?

Is that why enabling via coding is popular, saves some money with what amounts to couple of changes to be coded?
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2012, 01:55 PM   #4
ghueser
Lieutenant
12
Rep
513
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 M5
Join Date: May 2010
Location: St. Louis

iTrader: (0)

This is probably of of BMW's biggest bonehead moves in recent years. (other than deleting the oil dipstick) There are numerous vehicles on the market at half the cost that tells the consumer what their specific tire pressure is.

Having the tire "Green" is pretty much useless.

Dear BMW, please listen to your consumers and allow us the ability to have this feature.

Last edited by ghueser; 07-30-2012 at 03:52 PM.
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2012, 02:05 PM   #5
MPH
Private First Class
United Kingdom
4
Rep
134
Posts

 
Drives: F10 530D SE 2013 Imperial Blue
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Wales

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP View Post
just the standard one. So you have to specify the option just to get it to tell which tyre is low even though it must know?

Is that why enabling via coding is popular, saves some money with what amounts to couple of changes to be coded?
2VB Option
Attached Images
 
__________________
F10 530d SE. Imperial Blue Xirallic. Venetian Beige. Adaptive Drive and lots of toys!
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2012, 05:24 PM   #6
blueridger
Private
0
Rep
70
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 M3 Coupe ZCP DCT
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Blue Ridge Mountains

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [0.00]
I love my BMW, but this type of nonsense drives me mad. Most desirable features are an up-charge. Death by one-thousand cuts. Just my $0.02.
__________________
Current: Sorry to see the M3 gone, but engine issues sent me over the edge. My 'fun' car is now a Porsche 987.
Prior: e92 M3 DCT ZCP, f10, e93, e46
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2012, 07:16 AM   #7
ghueser
Lieutenant
12
Rep
513
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 M5
Join Date: May 2010
Location: St. Louis

iTrader: (0)

I could be mistaken, but this feature is not offered in the states, no matter what packages are bought with the vehicle. I guess BMW thinks Americans don't know how to deal wtih specific tire pressures.
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2012, 12:00 PM   #8
MPH
Private First Class
United Kingdom
4
Rep
134
Posts

 
Drives: F10 530D SE 2013 Imperial Blue
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Wales

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghueser View Post
I could be mistaken, but this feature is not offered in the states, no matter what packages are bought with the vehicle. I guess BMW thinks Americans don't know how to deal wtih specific tire pressures.
I think it is available in the US - see the photo in this thread a few threads below this one:

http://f10.5post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=723942
__________________
F10 530d SE. Imperial Blue Xirallic. Venetian Beige. Adaptive Drive and lots of toys!
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2012, 07:42 PM   #9
Losco
Second Lieutenant
Japan
4
Rep
231
Posts

 
Drives: F10 528i M-sport
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Japan

iTrader: (0)

heh, at least in states TPMS is required by law... in here all we get is lousy spin velocity check with ABS, which can't detect slow leak, and no temp/pressure =(
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2012, 07:15 AM   #10
ghueser
Lieutenant
12
Rep
513
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 M5
Join Date: May 2010
Location: St. Louis

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MPH View Post
I think it is available in the US - see the photo in this thread a few threads below this one:

http://f10.5post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=723942
No, we do not have either the specific tire pressure or temperature display in the states. (other than the new M) What was shown on this thread was the result of a code change on someones vehicle. They hacked the system and were able to activate this feature in the software of the car.

I would like to see BMW do the same throughout their dealership network and make this feature available for those that would like it.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2012, 08:07 AM   #11
dmunz
New Member
0
Rep
17
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 BMW 535i GT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghueser View Post
No, we do not have either the specific tire pressure or temperature display in the states. (other than the new M) What was shown on this thread was the result of a code change on someones vehicle. They hacked the system and were able to activate this feature in the software of the car.

I would like to see BMW do the same throughout their dealership network and make this feature available for those that would like it.
There is a pretty significant thread over in one of the other forums on this code change. Success on getting the TMPS active is hit or miss for no apparent reason (that we can figgure out.) For example, I have a 2012 535i GT and my system had been coded. All I get is the display showing the graphic for the tires with the temp and pressure but no data. There is another 2012 GT owner that has coded this exactly the same way and he gets the data.

We've looked at build dates, tire/wheel size and combinations (RWD v. AWD), F10 v F07 and the data is all over the place. (See the attache pdf for the data we have looked at.)

One of the guys here in Houston asked a local delaer about it and was told that BMW-USA does not activate this option because they are afraid they would get too many service calls when the pressure drops a point or two. That could be smoke.

FWIW
DLM
Attached Images
File Type: pdf TPMS Data.pdf (44.6 KB, 144 views)
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST