2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 F10 Technical Topics Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Coding F10 Navigation Install
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-13-2012, 10:20 AM   #1
can128
Private First Class
can128's Avatar
Canada
10
Rep
137
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 128i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario

iTrader: (0)

F10 Navigation Install

So my F10 came with the standard 7" screen (No Navi) and from the looks of it, a retrofit install with OEM equipment and some programming is possible.

http://f10.5post.com/forums/showthre...gation+install

I'm looking at purchasing this off ebay for the install. I have a number of connections at local BMW dealerships as well as private mechanics that can program it but I am wondering if anyone a little closer to home has done this modification and what parts exactly are required for it.

Here is the kit off ebay: http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-new-5er-...item3cca6c7b4b

Any help or input would be appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2012, 05:21 AM   #2
JCs F10
Enlisted Member
JCs F10's Avatar
Australia
0
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: 3.0 528i Msport
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Have a look at bmwonlinetv on YouTube. He has a video on how to remove the unit including the cic and screen. Its hell easy. Just make sure you cover your center console with lots of towels and bubble wrap so you don't scratch it. You will need a torx 20 size screwdriver.
Programming can be done remotely via team viewer or splashtop remote desktop. You can try Patryk at bimmertech.net or www.************** There are contributors there too, but Patryk is the man.
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2012, 04:32 PM   #3
can128
Private First Class
can128's Avatar
Canada
10
Rep
137
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 128i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario

iTrader: (0)

I've already removed the screen, and the whole dash for that matter... but thanks for the useful info JCs, I'll definitely be checking out the links you provided.

I guess no one on these forums have done the retrofit??
Appreciate 0
      09-15-2012, 01:57 AM   #4
JCs F10
Enlisted Member
JCs F10's Avatar
Australia
0
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: 3.0 528i Msport
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

I finished mine today and I'm waiting on programming. The whole thing works fine except there is no nav and no rear view camera image yet. You still get reverse sensor beeping but no image or dynamic guiding lines.
I'm assured all this will happen following the recode and the maps upgrade. The car can be driven as is and it also detects my hard drives and I pod just fine.
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2012, 08:44 AM   #5
gicamuci
Enlisted Member
Canada
0
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 535ix
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by can128 View Post
I guess no one on these forums have done the retrofit??
Did mine through Bimmer Retrofit - they have a shop near Montreal. Everything went very well. The hardware provided to me is from the Asian market and because of that I lost the Sirius radio which is not available on those markets. Make sure you ask for the USB connector and cable for the glove box and also for the latest NA maps. Records are updated by them so BMW will see your car with the NAV pro option added.
__________________
2012 Mercedes-Benz C350 4MATIC Black/Sahara
2011 F10 535i xDrive MY 01/2011 Sophisto Grey / Black
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2012, 09:34 AM   #6
RambleJ
Colonel
RambleJ's Avatar
No_Country
31
Rep
2,014
Posts

Drives: F10 535i M-sport
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Back in teh so cal

iTrader: (2)

What does a retrofit of this magnatude run on average.
Appreciate 0
      09-18-2012, 03:27 PM   #7
can128
Private First Class
can128's Avatar
Canada
10
Rep
137
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 128i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RambleJ View Post
What does a retrofit of this magnatude run on average.
From my own research so far, between parts, and programming (assuming you will be installing the hardware yourself) you're looking at around $2,000.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2012, 11:38 AM   #8
gicamuci
Enlisted Member
Canada
0
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 535ix
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Hardware install was done by me. Really nothing complicated.

CAD $2679.00 for the following:
- 10" display.
- iDrive controller (did not need one, but it comes in the kit).
- CIC head unit.
- USB glove box connector and cable.
- FSC activation code.
- latest maps update.
__________________
2012 Mercedes-Benz C350 4MATIC Black/Sahara
2011 F10 535i xDrive MY 01/2011 Sophisto Grey / Black

Last edited by gicamuci; 09-19-2012 at 11:44 AM.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2012, 04:28 PM   #9
JCs F10
Enlisted Member
JCs F10's Avatar
Australia
0
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: 3.0 528i Msport
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

I have just completed this through Bimmertech.net and the results are brilliant. Cost was similar to giacamuci's. The remote coding was was extremely quick done by MEN, one of Patryk's guys at bimmertech in Poland.
I strongly reccomend you talk to these gents. Pity we don't have sirius here in aus, my unit was compatible!
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2012, 04:53 PM   #10
Patrys@BimmerTech
Lieutenant Colonel
Patrys@BimmerTech's Avatar
Poland
125
Rep
1,703
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Warsaw/Poland

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCs F10 View Post
I have just completed this through Bimmertech.net and the results are brilliant. Cost was similar to giacamuci's. The remote coding was was extremely quick done by MEN, one of Patryk's guys at bimmertech in Poland.
I strongly reccomend you talk to these gents. Pity we don't have sirius here in aus, my unit was compatible!
Thank you Jarrod!
I am glad you like your new CIC and rear view camera

Oh and our website is www.bimmer-tech.net
__________________

Last edited by Patrys@BimmerTech; 09-21-2012 at 03:13 AM.
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2012, 10:50 PM   #11
jvbimmer
Registered
Taiwan
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: F10 535i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: TW

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via ICQ to jvbimmer
I also got my F10 done (6NR and map update) by Patryk in Taiwan.
they really are the guys for retrofit your bimmer.
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2012, 07:02 PM   #12
gicamuci
Enlisted Member
Canada
0
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: 535ix
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Just so you know... Had my car in for the first oil change and a seat recalibration I couldn't get rid of. Dealer said my car qualifies for a global software update. They did try to do it, but BMW refused to complete the update due to the retrofited nav/cic parts, even though the parts and enabling codes are indeed appearing on the BMW's ASAP site.
__________________
2012 Mercedes-Benz C350 4MATIC Black/Sahara
2011 F10 535i xDrive MY 01/2011 Sophisto Grey / Black
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2012, 05:17 AM   #13
JCs F10
Enlisted Member
JCs F10's Avatar
Australia
0
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: 3.0 528i Msport
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Don't stress, just get Patryk to recode it remotely at bimmer-tech. He sent me a combox update yesterday after the BMW site wouldn't accept my vin. They know you,ve done the retrofit because you've ordered the activation code and its matched against your vin. The site just rejects your vin. Stupid pricks should just make the one cic standard!
PS. Just tried it now and I got in no problem at all.

Last edited by JCs F10; 09-24-2012 at 06:23 AM.
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2012, 08:32 AM   #14
marcosg
New Member
Australia
0
Rep
17
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW F10 528i M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sydney - Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCs F10 View Post
Don't stress, just get Patryk to recode it remotely at bimmer-tech. He sent me a combox update yesterday after the BMW site wouldn't accept my vin. They know you,ve done the retrofit because you've ordered the activation code and its matched against your vin. The site just rejects your vin. Stupid pricks should just make the one cic standard!
PS. Just tried it now and I got in no problem at all.
Hi JC,

Can you please clarify what have you tried? and which BMW site are you referring to?
Appreciate 0
      09-25-2012, 07:12 AM   #15
JCs F10
Enlisted Member
JCs F10's Avatar
Australia
0
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: 3.0 528i Msport
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

http://www.bmw.com/com/_shortcuts/update. I tried to perform an update on the Bluetooth module, however this was not necessary as it was up to date. I did this because the iphone 4 that connected to my car did not load txt or emails. I noticed my vin was deemed incorrect after several attempts and checking my vin multiple times. The following evening it worked. I'm guessing the vin was temporarily suspended while BMW updated my cars vin profile following the retrofit.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2015, 02:10 PM   #16
J4nisM
New Member
0
Rep
10
Posts

Drives: BMW 520d se
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Brighton UK

iTrader: (0)

Hi. I just bought my BMW 520d and have no nav in as well. Is there anybody who can do this in UK?
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2015, 09:00 AM   #17
jayr111
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: F10 - 520 D SE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Info

I am talking to makkan00 let me know if you are interested too. we can ask him to do both cars in a day and ask for a price.. mine is a f10 520D too. 2011

Quote:
Originally Posted by J4nisM View Post
Hi. I just bought my BMW 520d and have no nav in as well. Is there anybody who can do this in UK?
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2015, 09:40 AM   #18
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
230
Rep
8,667
Posts

Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (55)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gicamuci View Post
Just so you know... Had my car in for the first oil change and a seat recalibration I couldn't get rid of. Dealer said my car qualifies for a global software update. They did try to do it, but BMW refused to complete the update due to the retrofited nav/cic parts, even though the parts and enabling codes are indeed appearing on the BMW's ASAP site.
When you retrofit navigation, you update the database of your car.
But configuration of your car up in Germany HQ is still old.

When they connect it to their server, their ISTA P request you to put the old stuff in your car and then update / code it.

Pretty normal. I had many of my clients coming back to me requesting to put the old harware back so they can get it update at bmw.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JCs F10 View Post
Don't stress, just get Patryk to recode it remotely at bimmer-tech. He sent me a combox update yesterday after the BMW site wouldn't accept my vin. They know you,ve done the retrofit because you've ordered the activation code and its matched against your vin. The site just rejects your vin. Stupid pricks should just make the one cic standard!
PS. Just tried it now and I got in no problem at all.

In normal circumtance, I agree with you.
But if it is warranty work, you may not wish to void your warranty. You put your old stuff in, get it coded so your warranty can be resumed on their database.


PS: Bimmer retrofit and bimmer tech both are amazing companies giving us options to have all these retrofits.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-03-2015, 09:41 AM   #19
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
230
Rep
8,667
Posts

Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (55)

Quote:
Originally Posted by J4nisM View Post
Hi. I just bought my BMW 520d and have no nav in as well. Is there anybody who can do this in UK?
You may not like the price but in all honestly, these retrofits are cheapest in UK. Look at what prices others are paying (see responses above).

Quote:
Originally Posted by jayr111 View Post
I am talking to makkan00 let me know if you are interested too. we can ask him to do both cars in a day and ask for a price.. mine is a f10 520D too. 2011

Thanks for mentioning.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:20 PM.




5post
5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST