2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 BMW 5-Series (F10) Forums General 5-Series Sedan and Wagon (F10 / F11) Forum Speed limit display
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-24-2012, 12:45 PM   #1
Jon D
Colonel
Jon D's Avatar
Scotland
50
Rep
2,575
Posts

 
Drives: F12 640i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Speed limit display

Has anyone been experiencing problems with the above?
On several occasions I've found it to be indicating the incorrect speed limit, despite the clear presence of normally placed warning signs.
I'm now at the point where I no longer trust it.
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2012, 12:48 PM   #2
HighlandPete
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,699
Posts

 
Drives: BMW F11 535i Touring
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland, Highland Region

iTrader: (0)

My speed limit function is doing pretty well, not caught it out yet.

HighlandPete
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2012, 01:08 PM   #3
Jon D
Colonel
Jon D's Avatar
Scotland
50
Rep
2,575
Posts

 
Drives: F12 640i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HighlandPete View Post
My speed limit function is doing pretty well, not caught it out yet.

HighlandPete
Thanks for the reply Pete.
Just in case we're talking about two different systems, I'm talking about the speed limit sign recognition camera, which displays the limit on either the HUD or instrument panel and not the speed limiter (button on LH steering wheel spoke).
Cheers,
Jon
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2012, 02:31 PM   #4
HighlandPete
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,699
Posts

 
Drives: BMW F11 535i Touring
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland, Highland Region

iTrader: (0)

Yes, the same function.

HighlandPete
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2012, 02:38 PM   #5
Gran Turismo
Alpina Addict
Gran Turismo's Avatar
Switzerland
0
Rep
94
Posts

 
Drives: Alpina B5 Biturbo Saloon
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Mine is not reliable when existing speed limits are cancelled (black&white signs) so the default speed limit for the respective type of road will apply again, but pretty reliable with new speed limits using red border signs.
__________________
Current: 2011 Alpina B5 Biturbo Saloon
Retired: 2007 BMW 650i SMG Coupe
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2012, 03:14 PM   #6
copello
Enlisted Member
France
0
Rep
31
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F10 520d
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Mine is Not performing well especially when multiple speed limits on multiple traffic lanes are present. I just cannot rely on it.
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2012, 03:23 PM   #7
aman27
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
209
Posts

 
Drives: na
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (0)

wow thats a cool feature in concept at least
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2012, 04:43 PM   #8
Ellmat
Private First Class
Ellmat's Avatar
United Kingdom
8
Rep
150
Posts

 
Drives: E70 3.0D MSport
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kent, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon D View Post
Has anyone been experiencing problems with the above?
On several occasions I've found it to be indicating the incorrect speed limit, despite the clear presence of normally placed warning signs.
I'm now at the point where I no longer trust it.
No problems with mine
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2012, 02:38 AM   #9
tnikolov
Private First Class
tnikolov's Avatar
Bulgaria
6
Rep
101
Posts

 
Drives: F15 X5 50i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

iTrader: (0)

This is how it works (or at least this is what I've read and my experience confirms it):

1) Speed data is pulled out from the maps in your F10's navi
2) The front camera scans all signs you go around
3) if 1 and 2 match, then data is displayed in your HUD. If they don't you see an empty scratched circle.

I believe this is true, cause here in Bulgaria I get no speed limit info without regard how clear the sign is. I hope that with the 2012 Navi update there will be info about the speed signs, but unfortunately there isn't.

In Germany on the other hand it works flawlessly, knows every single speed sign and will alert accordingly.
__________________
Current - 2015 F15 X5 50i, Mocha Nappa, M Sport Wheel, Night Vision w/ human recognition, Harman Kardon
Retired - 2011 F10 550i xDrive
Retired - 2009 E91 330d xDrive
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2012, 05:54 AM   #10
AP
Captain
AP's Avatar
17
Rep
679
Posts

 
Drives: F10 530d Msport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

in the UK, I find ok on the whole although its not 100%
Occasionally it will display the wrong speed for a road, ie 20 or 60 on what is a 30mph road.
It can also pick up signs on parallel roads such as sliproads on or off a motorway or dual carriageway.
It does pick up on the variable speed signs on the gantries on the M25 as well.

I've only ever seen it display speed limits here in the UK and I assume thats all it is configured to display. Does it display anything else?
I've seen pictures where 2 signs are displayed - I think for Germany so perhaps its 2 speed limit related signs?

PLease with this and I have it configured to display on the HUD.
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2012, 01:18 PM   #11
Arran73
New Member
Switzerland
1
Rep
18
Posts

 
Drives: F11 525d xdrive
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Arzier, switzerland

iTrader: (0)

Mine works great, make sure there is no dirt blocking the view
Appreciate 0
      10-30-2012, 04:58 PM   #12
Jon D
Colonel
Jon D's Avatar
Scotland
50
Rep
2,575
Posts

 
Drives: F12 640i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Had the windscreen replaced today; speed limit display now working fine.
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2012, 12:29 PM   #13
Bimmernerd
Second Lieutenant
Bimmernerd's Avatar
Sweden
3
Rep
242
Posts

 
Drives: 530dM xDrive F11 2012
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Stockholm

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by copello
Mine is Not performing well especially when multiple speed limits on multiple traffic lanes are present. I just cannot rely on it.
Same problem here in Sweden. Sometimes (but not often) it even shows incorrect speed limit on a country road with clear signs...perhaps it has to do with the GPS and not the camera?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST