2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 F10 Technical Topics Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications Downpipes/intercooler required??

07-16-2020, 09:26 PM   #1
Jcole9656
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: BMW 535i

Downpipes/intercooler required??

I just ordered intercooler, downpipes and bootMod3. Hesitant on installing the downpipes as I don't want to deal with the CEL and smog check. Are there any options of dealing with said issues above or is it just part of the headache when having downpipes? Lastly, is anyone running a tune without the downpipe? Do I really need to have the intercooler? I am a novice and am trying to learn.....so be gentle.

Engine mods so far is VRSF charge Pipe, M Performance Exhaust, BMS intake.
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2020, 09:54 PM   #2
ey2001
Captain
Rep
Drives: F10 535i 6spd

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jcole9656 View Post
I just ordered intercooler, downpipes and bootMod3. Hesitant on installing the downpipes as I don't want to deal with the CEL and smog check. Are there any options of dealing with said issues above or is it just part of the headache when having downpipes? Lastly, is anyone running a tune without the downpipe? Do I really need to have the intercooler? I am a novice and am trying to learn.....so be gentle.

Engine mods so far is VRSF charge Pipe, M Performance Exhaust, BMS intake.
Once you get a tune the cel will not be on... since your in socal smog here is pretty strict... so you have 2 options.... switch back to stock downpipe when doing smog or know someone and pay $$$ to pass it for you
Appreciate 1
      07-16-2020, 11:28 PM   #3
lsturbointeg
Lieutenant General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 535i Jet Black

Did you get catless dp? Also, you should do your research before just buying parts. Plenty of threads here that go over everything you just asked to give you a better understanding of what works in your situation