2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 F10 Technical Topics DIY Guides & Discussions DIY brake flush/bleed - comments and feedback

08-05-2019, 04:04 PM   #1
Surly73
Lieutenant Colonel
Canada
Rep
Drives: '11 535xi 8AT KWv3 MPE MHD xHP

DIY brake flush/bleed - comments and feedback

Just did this job on the F10 this weekend. Here are a few notes...

I've been doing brake bleeding the old fashioned way for a couple of decades on various cars, Japanese and German, and most with MT so there was clutch bleeding too.

Overall, based on my experience with the F10:
  • You really want a power bleeder
  • You really want ISTA
  • You need more fluid than you might think (2L minimum, next time I'm ordering 3)

Some instructions from TIS that apply to my F10:

The most general doc: https://www.newtis.info/tisv2/a/en/f...ion/1VnXvjGCJ0

Bleeding brakes with DSC: https://www.newtis.info/tisv2/a/en/f...ion/1VncYvP97T

Possible special procedure if needed for rear brakes with parking brake: https://www.newtis.info/tisv2/a/en/f...ation/Cl8orLIE

I bought a Motive Powerbleeder just for this job after reading the page on ISTA. I read many posts on various forums for F-body BMWs and most people were reporting that they were experienced DIYers and their pedal softened after doing a traditional bleed, and got firm again only when ISTA was used as per the BMW procedure. For $80 I just went right from the get-go with the Motive.

(Mostly) following the ISTA procedure, which different slightly from the TIS procedure, it walked me through a pre-pre-bleed of all four corners. Then it told me to open LR for the "pre-bleed stage". It activated a DSC pump and pumped 0.4L out the bleeder in a 15 second procedure. Then it told me to open LF for pre-bleed and did similar, but lower quantity.