2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 BMW 5-Series (F10) Forums General 5-Series Sedan and Wagon (F10 / F11) Forum F10 EXPECTED HOSE FAILURES? Did your hose fail?

02-15-2019, 10:37 AM   #1
Bimmerroad
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: Bmw 550i xdrive

F10 EXPECTED HOSE FAILURES? Did your hose fail?

2012 550i xdrive about to hit 60,000 miles

I have replaced a couple 1/2” coolant hoses, expecting that a few more will fail.

Since I am not experienced with hose work, but I find might be better to replace hoses that are more likely to fail within the next 30,000 miles (meaning between 60k and 90k miles) ?

Mostly city driving, although it has power to spare, it is driven moderately (boring old man like driving), thus not a lot demand fluctuations.
I do the expected basic maintenance, from fluids flushes, spark plugs/coils etc

l can easily tell that previous owner did not replace any of the hoses, they all look original, logic dictates failure are expected.

1- Anyone with similar bimmers models could share what hoses needed to be replace due to failure/leakage within 40,000 - 90,000 miles range?

2- What size hoses for these models or similar should one keep around?

3- Vulcoflex or similar flexible hoses, will they conform to most shapes? What hoses one should not try to emulate their shape with flexible hoses?

Hopefully it will not sound abrasive, but will mostly helpful if not just a personal opinion without actual first hand experience/knowledge or just hunch based on merely on personal hypothesis.,

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2019, 12:25 PM   #2
SilverSlurf
Rep
Drives: 2012 535i sport

on this f10 at 97k i have not experienced this but on my e60 i did have to replace a few hoses and the expansion tank around the same mileage so im waiting for it lol.
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2019, 09:47 PM   #3
fastfreddie63
Rep
Drives: BMW 550xi, AMG C63