2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 BMW 5-Series (F10) Forums General 5-Series Sedan and Wagon (F10 / F11) Forum 2015 Adaptive LCI LED Headlights Upgrade
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-16-2019, 02:40 PM   #111
addy27
First Lieutenant
117
Rep
383
Posts

Drives: F10 550i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marclind View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by marclind View Post
You are a lifesaver!!!
It says FRM3 on my module but it seems that i need to exchange it.. Its just about 200$ for a used one so compared to the headlights its not so expensive
Oh, forgot.. And the connectors? Do I need to exchange them aswell?
By Connectors I really mean both pins AND connectors IF you are creating your own harness. Else you only need the correct pins, some for behind the the fuse boxes, and the others for plugging into open locations on the modules. There is a thread on the M5 forum by "dima" who has successfully done this on an LCI M5 which details how he made the connections. I have pre LCI so I need more connections to be switched at the headlights, hence I opted for adding a new harness

https://f10.m5post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1491367

Last edited by addy27; 08-16-2019 at 03:08 PM..
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2019, 02:59 AM   #112
marclind
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: F11 520d 2011
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sweden, Gothenburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by addy27 View Post
By Connectors I really mean both pins AND connectors IF you are creating your own harness. Else you only need the correct pins, some for behind the the fuse boxes, and the others for plugging into open locations on the modules. There is a thread on the M5 forum by "dima" who has successfully done this on an LCI M5 which details how he made the connections. I have pre LCI so I need more connections to be switched at the headlights, hence I opted for adding a new harness

https://f10.m5post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1491367
addy27, this is the most usefull info anyone has ever given me in this forum. You are a real hero
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2019, 03:22 PM   #113
addy27
First Lieutenant
117
Rep
383
Posts

Drives: F10 550i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marclind View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by addy27 View Post
By Connectors I really mean both pins AND connectors IF you are creating your own harness. Else you only need the correct pins, some for behind the the fuse boxes, and the others for plugging into open locations on the modules. There is a thread on the M5 forum by "dima" who has successfully done this on an LCI M5 which details how he made the connections. I have pre LCI so I need more connections to be switched at the headlights, hence I opted for adding a new harness

https://f10.m5post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1491367
addy27, this is the most usefull info anyone has ever given me in this forum. You are a real hero
Glad to be of help, feel free to ask more questions. I will try to fully install the new harness this weekend. It's in the car already meaning going from fuse box to the firewall under the carpet. I haven't yet made the needed hole and push the harness through rubber grommet that shrouds the harness as it goes out from driver side inside to the outside of the car. And for the passenger side I need to remove the blower motor cover to get the harness through since the HVAC structure is in the way. Then, once I've made sure of continuity, I can test the new lights without having to remove the existing ones just to make sure things work. Then it would be the bumper removal and swap. (If all goes well &#128514
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2019, 07:00 AM   #114
marclind
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: F11 520d 2011
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Sweden, Gothenburg

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by addy27 View Post
Glad to be of help, feel free to ask more questions. I will try to fully install the new harness this weekend. It's in the car already meaning going from fuse box to the firewall under the carpet. I haven't yet made the needed hole and push the harness through rubber grommet that shrouds the harness as it goes out from driver side inside to the outside of the car. And for the passenger side I need to remove the blower motor cover to get the harness through since the HVAC structure is in the way. Then, once I've made sure of continuity, I can test the new lights without having to remove the existing ones just to make sure things work. Then it would be the bumper removal and swap. (If all goes well &#128514
Would appriciate if you can snap some photos and maybe email me or something. The guy who helps me said that no extra cables is needed. Just two CAN cables and something about LIN cables
He told me that LED uses less pins of all optional headlights. I have xenon pre-LCI on mine without adaptive steering, but I,ve bought a interior mirror for a car that has highbeam assistance so iŽll prepare for that upgrade while im doing this.
Highbeam assistance should be controlled by the FRM 3 if ive got this right?

My email is my username @Hotmail.com
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2019, 06:22 PM   #115
addy27
First Lieutenant
117
Rep
383
Posts

Drives: F10 550i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marclind View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by addy27 View Post
Glad to be of help, feel free to ask more questions. I will try to fully install the new harness this weekend. It's in the car already meaning going from fuse box to the firewall under the carpet. I haven't yet made the needed hole and push the harness through rubber grommet that shrouds the harness as it goes out from driver side inside to the outside of the car. And for the passenger side I need to remove the blower motor cover to get the harness through since the HVAC structure is in the way. Then, once I've made sure of continuity, I can test the new lights without having to remove the existing ones just to make sure things work. Then it would be the bumper removal and swap. (If all goes well ��)
Would appriciate if you can snap some photos and maybe email me or something. The guy who helps me said that no extra cables is needed. Just two CAN cables and something about LIN cables
He told me that LED uses less pins of all optional headlights. I have xenon pre-LCI on mine without adaptive steering, but I,ve bought a interior mirror for a car that has highbeam assistance so iŽll prepare for that upgrade while im doing this.
Highbeam assistance should be controlled by the FRM 3 if ive got this right?

My email is my username @Hotmail.com
LED headlights use 8 connections each total. There is DEFINITELY need to add at least 1 if not 2 power cables from the fuse boxes. Otherwise, it's essentially getting all the power from the FRM, which I'm not sure is capable of a full LED load (I could be wrong). Yes you need CAN3 lines from ZGW to headlights and lastly Lin connections to be moved around. It can be done using existing cables but that is a one way road since once you have them in, it would be very hard to go back to stock for any reason. My plan is I at least want to keep that option open hence adding the additional harness.

I had put together a diagram of all the wiring here: https://f10.5post.com/forums/showthr...LED+headlights
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2019, 11:06 PM   #116
rkstar9
First Lieutenant
59
Rep
363
Posts

Drives: '10 X5 3.5D
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by addy27 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by marclind View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by addy27 View Post
Glad to be of help, feel free to ask more questions. I will try to fully install the new harness this weekend. It's in the car already meaning going from fuse box to the firewall under the carpet. I haven't yet made the needed hole and push the harness through rubber grommet that shrouds the harness as it goes out from driver side inside to the outside of the car. And for the passenger side I need to remove the blower motor cover to get the harness through since the HVAC structure is in the way. Then, once I've made sure of continuity, I can test the new lights without having to remove the existing ones just to make sure things work. Then it would be the bumper removal and swap. (If all goes well ��)
Would appriciate if you can snap some photos and maybe email me or something. The guy who helps me said that no extra cables is needed. Just two CAN cables and something about LIN cables
He told me that LED uses less pins of all optional headlights. I have xenon pre-LCI on mine without adaptive steering, but I,ve bought a interior mirror for a car that has highbeam assistance so i´ll prepare for that upgrade while im doing this.
Highbeam assistance should be controlled by the FRM 3 if ive got this right?

My email is my username @Hotmail.com
LED headlights use 8 connections each total. There is DEFINITELY need to add at least 1 if not 2 power cables from the fuse boxes. Otherwise, it's essentially getting all the power from the FRM, which I'm not sure is capable of a full LED load (I could be wrong). Yes you need CAN3 lines from ZGW to headlights and lastly Lin connections to be moved around. It can be done using existing cables but that is a one way road since once you have them in, it would be very hard to go back to stock for any reason. My plan is I at least want to keep that option open hence adding the additional harness.

I had put together a diagram of all the wiring here: https://f10.5post.com/forums/showthr...LED+headlights

speaking of FRM load. since they fry easily when moisture gets anywhere, could one add a fuse between frm and headlight. ?

talking about the data cable that comunicates frm with headlight modules stm and stml
__________________
StockX5
DUDMD stage 2 tune
Deleted
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2019, 10:16 AM   #117
addy27
First Lieutenant
117
Rep
383
Posts

Drives: F10 550i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkstar9 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by addy27 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by marclind View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by addy27 View Post
Glad to be of help, feel free to ask more questions. I will try to fully install the new harness this weekend. It's in the car already meaning going from fuse box to the firewall under the carpet. I haven't yet made the needed hole and push the harness through rubber grommet that shrouds the harness as it goes out from driver side inside to the outside of the car. And for the passenger side I need to remove the blower motor cover to get the harness through since the HVAC structure is in the way. Then, once I've made sure of continuity, I can test the new lights without having to remove the existing ones just to make sure things work. Then it would be the bumper removal and swap. (If all goes well ��)
Would appriciate if you can snap some photos and maybe email me or something. The guy who helps me said that no extra cables is needed. Just two CAN cables and something about LIN cables
He told me that LED uses less pins of all optional headlights. I have xenon pre-LCI on mine without adaptive steering, but I,ve bought a interior mirror for a car that has highbeam assistance so i´ll prepare for that upgrade while im doing this.
Highbeam assistance should be controlled by the FRM 3 if ive got this right?

My email is my username @Hotmail.com
LED headlights use 8 connections each total. There is DEFINITELY need to add at least 1 if not 2 power cables from the fuse boxes. Otherwise, it's essentially getting all the power from the FRM, which I'm not sure is capable of a full LED load (I could be wrong). Yes you need CAN3 lines from ZGW to headlights and lastly Lin connections to be moved around. It can be done using existing cables but that is a one way road since once you have them in, it would be very hard to go back to stock for any reason. My plan is I at least want to keep that option open hence adding the additional harness.

I had put together a diagram of all the wiring here: https://f10.5post.com/forums/showthr...LED+headlights

speaking of FRM load. since they fry easily when moisture gets anywhere, could one add a fuse between frm and headlight. ?

talking about the data cable that comunicates frm with headlight modules stm and stml
You could, but ideally you want power from fuse box and communication signals (LIN)from the FRM.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST