2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 BMW 5-Series (F10) Forums General 5-Series Sedan and Wagon (F10 / F11) Forum 2013 535i Msport - squeal at idle when stopping

06-05-2019, 05:30 PM   #1
o4s1s
Registered
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2013 F10 535i M Sport

2013 535i Msport - squeal at idle when stopping

Hi all,

I am new to BMW and this 5 series is an awesome car for me. With 3 kids a wife its a 'sensible' family car with great performance, I love it.

So, i started hearing what sounds like a low rotational belt squeal sound when coming to a stop. It does not happen all the time and it does not happen upon start up. Only happens right as I am about to come to a complete stop the sound will then continue until the engine shuts off (Start/Stop feature).

I had my indy mechanic look at it but I think they focused on the various pressure release valves and the engine seals thinking perhaps it was a faulty valve or engine case seal. They were unable to duplicate the noise or discover any obvious issue and gave it back to me after an oil change and wash. Told me to bring it back if it gets worse.

I have done a little bit of troubleshooting and the only thing I found that is reliably reproducible is this:

With Engine Start/Stop feature ON the noise starts just before coming to a complete stop with idle speed RPM. When I keep the brake pedal moving but not letting the car move(preventing Start/Stop engine shutdown) while stopped the sound will continue. When the engine shuts down the noise stops. If I turn OFF the engine Start/Stop feature while the squeal is occurring it stops immediately. If i have the Start/Stop OFF the squeal never happens.

I tried to do a little research online on how the Stop/Start feature actually works mechanically and electrically and was not able to discover that information.