2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 F10 Technical Topics Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Coding F10 Reverse Camera Retrofit 3AG Issue

08-15-2023, 04:13 PM   #1
zainexe
Rep
Drives: BMW F10

F10 Reverse Camera Retrofit 3AG Issue

Hi all,

Please let me preface this with the fact that I'm a total newbie when it comes to coding and retrofitting so if I say something stupid, please bear with me.

I have a March 2011 F10 Pre-LCI which has a CIC system. So recently I bought this Android head unit for my F10 which came with a reversing camera. I thought that I'd wire it up in the car before ripping my interior apart only for it to not work. This ended up being a good idea as it didn't work! I wired the camera exactly like this video. As you can see, the connections all go into the "new" wiring harness that connects from the CIC system into the new Android unit.

However, when I put the car into reverse, literally nothing changed. Parking sensors firing off and was as if I hadn't done anything. I thought maybe the feature needed to be coded in so I did some Googling and found that I'd need to add in 3AG via E-Sys.

Here's where my first issue lies. I added 3AG in correctly as per a tutorial I found online. However, my next step was VO coding the related stuff into the ECU. I believe that I first tried PDC, HU_CHAMP, KOMBI, CAS, and a few other ones that were common on other threads that related to this rear view camera retrofit. I checked the reverse and I now had the options for Rear view camera, brightness, parking aid lines, and everything else - but they are all greyed out and nothing worked when I clicked it. I wish I took a picture of all the ECUs I had but I remember having 20.