2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 F10 Technical Topics DIY Guides & Discussions DIY brake flush/bleed - comments and feedback
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-18-2020, 01:31 AM   #23
dvaz
Private First Class
29
Rep
128
Posts

Drives: 2015 335i
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surly73 View Post

The simplified process:

1/ bleed a little through all four corners
2/ open LR - ISTA will pre-bleed (large quantity, fast)
3/ open LF - ISTA will pre-bleed (large quantity, fast)
4/ open all four in sequence - ISTA will bleed each one in turn (90s each, modest quantity of fluid)
I am to do this soon.

So basically attach the motif, pressure it, load up ISTA, go to the brake bleeding procedure, start - and just follow instructions on screen - clicking next continue as you go along?

On the part 4, where you say open all four in sequence, do you not close the valve before going to the next one? or they all left open at this point?
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2020, 09:00 AM   #24
Surly73
Major
Canada
213
Rep
1,460
Posts

Drives: '11 535xi 8AT KWv3 MPE MHD xHP
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Oakville, Ontario

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvaz View Post
I am to do this soon.

So basically attach the motif, pressure it, load up ISTA, go to the brake bleeding procedure, start - and just follow instructions on screen - clicking next continue as you go along?

On the part 4, where you say open all four in sequence, do you not close the valve before going to the next one? or they all left open at this point?
Yes - just follow instructions. Only one bleeder is ever open at a time.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2020, 10:35 PM   #25
ckaul
Private
13
Rep
58
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 528i xDrive
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Can someone explain how you connect ISTA to an F10? Do you use a DCAN cable, an ENET cable or the ICOM device thing? I really cant figure this out and I have been all over the internet trying to get my car to connect to this damn software..
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2020, 10:44 PM   #26
Unspec
Captain
Unspec's Avatar
United_States
227
Rep
678
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW 535xi
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckaul View Post
Can someone explain how you connect ISTA to an F10? Do you use a DCAN cable, an ENET cable or the ICOM device thing? I really cant figure this out and I have been all over the internet trying to get my car to connect to this damn software..
ENET. ICOM is really only used for programming the car.
__________________
2015 BMW 535xi

Bootmod3 Stage 2 | ER Catted DP | Remus Exhaust | Gplus FMIC
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2020, 10:44 PM   #27
ezaircon4jc
Brigadier General
United_States
1017
Rep
3,312
Posts

Drives: 2014 535i M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckaul View Post
Can someone explain how you connect ISTA to an F10? Do you use a DCAN cable, an ENET cable or the ICOM device thing? I really cant figure this out and I have been all over the internet trying to get my car to connect to this damn software..
Pick one or there are instructions here somewhere on how to make your own.

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fro...cable&_sacat=0
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2020, 10:55 PM   #28
ckaul
Private
13
Rep
58
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 528i xDrive
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezaircon4jc View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckaul View Post
Can someone explain how you connect ISTA to an F10? Do you use a DCAN cable, an ENET cable or the ICOM device thing? I really cant figure this out and I have been all over the internet trying to get my car to connect to this damn software..
Pick one or there are instructions here somewhere on how to make your own.

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fro...e&_sacat=0
So I already have an ENET cable and some old version of ISTA. Now when I tried to connect the car it just doesnt recognize anything and I cant figure out why..
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 PM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST