2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 F10 Technical Topics Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Coding TPMS reading pressure & Temp
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-07-2016, 04:20 PM   #1
ezaircon4jc
Colonel
United_States
773
Rep
2,670
Posts

Drives: 2014 535i M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

TPMS reading pressure & Temp

Searched and searched and I can't find the original discussion....

I coded my '12 535i to read the temp and pressure but, alas, I was one of the unfortunate few(?) that didn't get the values displayed. I got --F and --psi. I suspected the sensors as, to, me that was the only variable between the cars that displayed and those that don't. I replaced the sensors when I replaced the tires a couple of weeks ago; I had the wrong sensors until last Friday. With the correct sensors installed I'm very happy to say I now get the pressure and temp readout. Sooooo.... I believe the TPMS sensors are at fault for those that don't get the readouts.

Last edited by ezaircon4jc; 08-07-2016 at 11:21 PM..
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2016, 11:06 PM   #2
SchillerM
First Lieutenant
70
Rep
320
Posts

Drives: 11' 550i, '00 M5, '11 E90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Thanks! I want to get this coded in future. Can you post right and wrong part #s for us?

Any idea if E90 can be coded as well?
Matt
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2016, 12:18 AM   #3
ezaircon4jc
Colonel
United_States
773
Rep
2,670
Posts

Drives: 2014 535i M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SchillerM View Post
Thanks! I want to get this coded in future. Can you post right and wrong part #s for us?

Any idea if E90 can be coded as well?
Matt
Not sure about the coding. Have you checked the coding section? The F30 section has the coding information.

For models until 9/2010... 36236798726KT

For models after 9/2010... 36106856227KT

Info is from Turner Motorsport. The kicker is COSTCO didn't install the sensors I bought they installed their own! I do know the sensors I have for sale (in the For Sale section) will work on the E90.
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2016, 01:51 PM   #4
ndinh
Lieutenant
United_States
149
Rep
545
Posts

Drives: 640i GC, X5
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezaircon4jc View Post
For models after 9/2010... 36106856227KT
Wife has a '12 528i which I'm assuming uses the same sensor as your '12 535i. Is the S/N# above the one I should pick up? Where did you buy yours? Thx.
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2016, 10:10 PM   #5
ezaircon4jc
Colonel
United_States
773
Rep
2,670
Posts

Drives: 2014 535i M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndinh View Post
Wife has a '12 528i which I'm assuming uses the same sensor as your '12 535i. Is the S/N# above the one I should pick up? Where did you buy yours? Thx.
This is the correct p/n: 36236798726. The KT just means kit; i.e. all 4 sensors. I got them from Turner Motorsport....

https://www.turnermotorsport.com/p-3...-style-models/
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2019, 01:39 PM   #6
Gjohnson7
New Member
0
Rep
17
Posts

Drives: 11' BMW 535i, 07' Lexus LS46
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Tulsa, OK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW  [0.00]
I am having the same issue after coding where the CIC is not displaying the pressure or temperature. I have checked my vin coding and I do have the TPMS sensor and system, I also checked the tires and they have the metal valve stems. Could this still be an issue of not having the correct sensors? From what I have read the incorrect sensors would have the rubber valve stems.

Is there anything else I should check/try?
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2019, 04:52 PM   #7
ezaircon4jc
Colonel
United_States
773
Rep
2,670
Posts

Drives: 2014 535i M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gjohnson7 View Post
I am having the same issue after coding where the CIC is not displaying the pressure or temperature. I have checked my vin coding and I do have the TPMS sensor and system, I also checked the tires and they have the metal valve stems. Could this still be an issue of not having the correct sensors? From what I have read the incorrect sensors would have the rubber valve stems.

Is there anything else I should check/try?
Mine had metal stems also. Like I wrote above, I had to get new sensors; why I don't know. Get the p/n I posted above and you should be good to go.

YMMV
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 06:08 PM   #8
lsturbointeg
Lieutenant General
lsturbointeg's Avatar
United_States
4971
Rep
12,584
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i Jet Black
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Asian lost in OH

iTrader: (0)

so what apps are you guys using nowadays to code the F10 easily? I remember a few years back you actually had to have someone with a computer who would do group meetups for a discounted price. any apps out there that I can now start DL and learning to code but at a much elementary type way of doing things?
__________________
~CinnamonLeatherInterior~21"3Piece AlphaForgedWheels~BMSgoldTitaniumLugz~ 3dCarbonRearSpoiler~3dCarbonFrontLip~3dCarbonSideS kirtExtensions~DTMCarbonDiffuser~CarbonWrapPUFront Splitter~CarbonRearSplitters~CarbonEmblems~Lederma nzWheel~ShadowlineKit~DoubleSlatGrills~WstyleCarbo nRoofSpoiler~CarbonMirrorCovers~MeisterschaftEVC90 mmQuadExhaust~CarbonTipCovers~KWV1Coilovers~MPedal s~G2GoldCalipers~35%TinT~JB4~
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 07:20 PM   #9
ezaircon4jc
Colonel
United_States
773
Rep
2,670
Posts

Drives: 2014 535i M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsturbointeg View Post
so what apps are you guys using nowadays to code the F10 easily? I remember a few years back you actually had to have someone with a computer who would do group meetups for a discounted price. any apps out there that I can now start DL and learning to code but at a much elementary type way of doing things?
I went with BimmerCode and (I think) the VeeGate adapter. ESys got too hard for me to figure out (I'm not a computer guy) and Carly went greedy. I can always add BimmerLink if/when I want to get into diagnostics. From what I can see, BimmerCode works like ESys coding when in Expert Mode.
Appreciate 1
      09-11-2019, 08:44 PM   #10
lsturbointeg
Lieutenant General
lsturbointeg's Avatar
United_States
4971
Rep
12,584
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i Jet Black
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Asian lost in OH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezaircon4jc View Post
I went with BimmerCode and (I think) the VeeGate adapter. ESys got too hard for me to figure out (I'm not a computer guy) and Carly went greedy. I can always add BimmerLink if/when I want to get into diagnostics. From what I can see, BimmerCode works like ESys coding when in Expert Mode.
thanks ezaircon4jc! been watching a bunch of YouTube videos on BimmerCode the past hour. what i'm wondering is because I have the smaller 6.5" screen will I be able to see PSI on the TPMS screen? i'm wondering if i'm limited because I have the smaller screen or should that not matter?
__________________
~CinnamonLeatherInterior~21"3Piece AlphaForgedWheels~BMSgoldTitaniumLugz~ 3dCarbonRearSpoiler~3dCarbonFrontLip~3dCarbonSideS kirtExtensions~DTMCarbonDiffuser~CarbonWrapPUFront Splitter~CarbonRearSplitters~CarbonEmblems~Lederma nzWheel~ShadowlineKit~DoubleSlatGrills~WstyleCarbo nRoofSpoiler~CarbonMirrorCovers~MeisterschaftEVC90 mmQuadExhaust~CarbonTipCovers~KWV1Coilovers~MPedal s~G2GoldCalipers~35%TinT~JB4~
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2019, 11:05 PM   #11
ezaircon4jc
Colonel
United_States
773
Rep
2,670
Posts

Drives: 2014 535i M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsturbointeg View Post
thanks ezaircon4jc! been watching a bunch of YouTube videos on BimmerCode the past hour. what i'm wondering is because I have the smaller 6.5" screen will I be able to see PSI on the TPMS screen? i'm wondering if i'm limited because I have the smaller screen or should that not matter?
That I don't know... Do you have the color tire display? I thought all U.S. 535's had NAV with the 10" display.
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2019, 05:51 PM   #12
lsturbointeg
Lieutenant General
lsturbointeg's Avatar
United_States
4971
Rep
12,584
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i Jet Black
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Asian lost in OH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezaircon4jc View Post
That I don't know... Do you have the color tire display? I thought all U.S. 535's had NAV with the 10" display.
so here's what mine looks like. it does have color in it. i'd hate to buy the Bimmercode app to find out that i'm limited because of my screen size
__________________
~CinnamonLeatherInterior~21"3Piece AlphaForgedWheels~BMSgoldTitaniumLugz~ 3dCarbonRearSpoiler~3dCarbonFrontLip~3dCarbonSideS kirtExtensions~DTMCarbonDiffuser~CarbonWrapPUFront Splitter~CarbonRearSplitters~CarbonEmblems~Lederma nzWheel~ShadowlineKit~DoubleSlatGrills~WstyleCarbo nRoofSpoiler~CarbonMirrorCovers~MeisterschaftEVC90 mmQuadExhaust~CarbonTipCovers~KWV1Coilovers~MPedal s~G2GoldCalipers~35%TinT~JB4~
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2019, 06:15 PM   #13
ezaircon4jc
Colonel
United_States
773
Rep
2,670
Posts

Drives: 2014 535i M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsturbointeg View Post
so here's what mine looks like. it does have color in it. i'd hate to buy the Bimmercode app to find out that i'm limited because of my screen size
Too bad you're not closer; we could meet up and use my Bimmercode and see what happens. Then again, both components are only ~$65...
Appreciate 1
      09-12-2019, 07:29 PM   #14
lsturbointeg
Lieutenant General
lsturbointeg's Avatar
United_States
4971
Rep
12,584
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i Jet Black
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Asian lost in OH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezaircon4jc View Post
Too bad you're not closer; we could meet up and use my Bimmercode and see what happens. Then again, both components are only ~$65...
$65 for the app and the adapter?
__________________
~CinnamonLeatherInterior~21"3Piece AlphaForgedWheels~BMSgoldTitaniumLugz~ 3dCarbonRearSpoiler~3dCarbonFrontLip~3dCarbonSideS kirtExtensions~DTMCarbonDiffuser~CarbonWrapPUFront Splitter~CarbonRearSplitters~CarbonEmblems~Lederma nzWheel~ShadowlineKit~DoubleSlatGrills~WstyleCarbo nRoofSpoiler~CarbonMirrorCovers~MeisterschaftEVC90 mmQuadExhaust~CarbonTipCovers~KWV1Coilovers~MPedal s~G2GoldCalipers~35%TinT~JB4~
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2019, 10:35 PM   #15
ezaircon4jc
Colonel
United_States
773
Rep
2,670
Posts

Drives: 2014 535i M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsturbointeg View Post
$65 for the app and the adapter?
Yup... The app was $32 and the adapter ~$32 off of Amazon (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1).
Appreciate 1
      09-12-2019, 11:28 PM   #16
lsturbointeg
Lieutenant General
lsturbointeg's Avatar
United_States
4971
Rep
12,584
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i Jet Black
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Asian lost in OH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezaircon4jc View Post
Yup... The app was $32 and the adapter ~$32 off of Amazon (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1).
What kind of coding have you done to your car so far? I'm trying to justify whether or not to do this just because the PSI is really why I would pay $65 but if it doesn't than it would be cool to know what other codings is worth it
__________________
~CinnamonLeatherInterior~21"3Piece AlphaForgedWheels~BMSgoldTitaniumLugz~ 3dCarbonRearSpoiler~3dCarbonFrontLip~3dCarbonSideS kirtExtensions~DTMCarbonDiffuser~CarbonWrapPUFront Splitter~CarbonRearSplitters~CarbonEmblems~Lederma nzWheel~ShadowlineKit~DoubleSlatGrills~WstyleCarbo nRoofSpoiler~CarbonMirrorCovers~MeisterschaftEVC90 mmQuadExhaust~CarbonTipCovers~KWV1Coilovers~MPedal s~G2GoldCalipers~35%TinT~JB4~
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2019, 04:14 PM   #17
ezaircon4jc
Colonel
United_States
773
Rep
2,670
Posts

Drives: 2014 535i M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsturbointeg View Post
What kind of coding have you done to your car so far? I'm trying to justify whether or not to do this just because the PSI is really why I would pay $65 but if it doesn't than it would be cool to know what other codings is worth it
I did most of my coding with ESys a couple years ago (when it was readily available). I had the car in for something and they erased the compass. I used it for that and verification that my other coding was still intact; mirrors fold when locking, windows keep moving when a door is opened, 100% corona rings, tire pressure/temp readout... that kind of stuff (it was). I think there's a free demo mode on the app. To me, Bimmercode is much easier than ESys.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2019, 04:27 PM   #18
lsturbointeg
Lieutenant General
lsturbointeg's Avatar
United_States
4971
Rep
12,584
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i Jet Black
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Asian lost in OH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezaircon4jc View Post
I did most of my coding with ESys a couple years ago (when it was readily available). I had the car in for something and they erased the compass. I used it for that and verification that my other coding was still intact; mirrors fold when locking, windows keep moving when a door is opened, 100% corona rings, tire pressure/temp readout... that kind of stuff (it was). I think there's a free demo mode on the app. To me, Bimmercode is much easier than ESys.
oh cool. so any new codes with using Bimmercode? i'm really thinking about doing this here shortly. so pretty much all the coding you did from ESys I can do with Bimmercode than
__________________
~CinnamonLeatherInterior~21"3Piece AlphaForgedWheels~BMSgoldTitaniumLugz~ 3dCarbonRearSpoiler~3dCarbonFrontLip~3dCarbonSideS kirtExtensions~DTMCarbonDiffuser~CarbonWrapPUFront Splitter~CarbonRearSplitters~CarbonEmblems~Lederma nzWheel~ShadowlineKit~DoubleSlatGrills~WstyleCarbo nRoofSpoiler~CarbonMirrorCovers~MeisterschaftEVC90 mmQuadExhaust~CarbonTipCovers~KWV1Coilovers~MPedal s~G2GoldCalipers~35%TinT~JB4~
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2019, 05:29 PM   #19
ezaircon4jc
Colonel
United_States
773
Rep
2,670
Posts

Drives: 2014 535i M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsturbointeg View Post
oh cool. so any new codes with using Bimmercode? i'm really thinking about doing this here shortly. so pretty much all the coding you did from ESys I can do with Bimmercode than
From what I can tell. I think I had to go into Expert Mode and use the ESys code for the compass. I read I can also do the variable light distribution even without the camera so will try that when it cools down. The garage is just too hot!
Appreciate 1
      09-19-2019, 02:11 PM   #20
XLife14
Private
18
Rep
69
Posts

Drives: 2014 X5 xLine 2012 535i M
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

Some have stated that they got their 2012 to show the values after coding with original sensors...How do we know before coding if it will work?
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2019, 02:12 PM   #21
XLife14
Private
18
Rep
69
Posts

Drives: 2014 X5 xLine 2012 535i M
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsturbointeg View Post
oh cool. so any new codes with using Bimmercode? i'm really thinking about doing this here shortly. so pretty much all the coding you did from ESys I can do with Bimmercode than
I am in the same boat. I am mostly in it for the folding mirror on lock and this TPMS values.
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2019, 12:53 PM   #22
ezaircon4jc
Colonel
United_States
773
Rep
2,670
Posts

Drives: 2014 535i M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by XLife14 View Post
Some have stated that they got their 2012 to show the values after coding with original sensors...How do we know before coding if it will work?
You can't. You have to code them in before you know if it'll work. Coding didn't work on my 2012 (all I got were --F and --psi) until I changed the sensors. Once I did that the readouts work.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST