2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
 

2010 2011 BMW 5 Series Forum F10 F10 Technical Topics Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications well that sux! Drivetrain Malfunction
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-20-2019, 10:07 PM   #23
ey2001
Captain
ey2001's Avatar
280
Rep
626
Posts

Drives: F10 535i 6spd
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: la

iTrader: (0)

Ditch the jb4 and just get a flash tune... way better
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2019, 10:34 PM   #24
lsturbointeg
Lieutenant General
lsturbointeg's Avatar
United_States
7036
Rep
14,040
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i Jet Black
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Asian lost in OH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ziekxq View Post
E12C01 & E12C03
The instrument cluster receives the resistance values of the fuel level sensors from the JBE / REM / BDC control unit in the form of a CAN message.
A short circuit to B+ is detected if the received resistance value is greater than the defined fault limit value.

B7F668
The fault is entered after a software reset or a hardware reset.

Looks like you have short circuit somewhere. @JB4problems
With the JB4 itself? So shit is this a dealer fix?
__________________
~F90Conversion~21"3Piece Forged AvantGardeWheels~KWV1Coilovers~CQUENCE slotted/drilled rotors~GoodridgeStainlesslines~MeisterschaftQuadEx haust~Akrapovic 4"tips~VRSF DP~VRSF CP~TurboSmart BOV~K&N filter~CarbonFiberExteriorComponents~GladenAlphaCo mponents~MatchUp7BMW~Punch P300-12T~
Follow me on Instagram: lsturbointeg
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2019, 05:01 PM   #25
JDMSteven
Second Lieutenant
JDMSteven's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
274
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW 535i xDrive Alpine
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Ocala, Florida

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lsturbointeg View Post
Thanks for the info. I wonder what all was entailed in fixing that fuel pump ground wire fault?
I think they removed the backseats and got to the fuel pump and changed the ground wire... not sure tbh but it was a pretty quick fix and they didn't have to order parts.
Appreciate 1
      08-21-2019, 05:03 PM   #26
lsturbointeg
Lieutenant General
lsturbointeg's Avatar
United_States
7036
Rep
14,040
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i Jet Black
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Asian lost in OH

iTrader: (0)

Update

We hooked up the labtop to try to read DME codes and all I get back are "No Codes" so can anyone confirm that the OBD connection has to be plugged in in order to read codes? Anyways, we switched via labtop the map back to 0. We also re-updated the firmware just because. The drivetrain Malfunction error is now gone and not showing on the screen. I'm still gonna swap the plugs and coils just to be safe but the car runs fine . Can anyone confirm regarding having to have the OBD plugged in in order to read codes? I thought with the JB4 connected via labtop was sufficient

I do still have a check engine light on and with hidden maps I can still see the error codes still. But the drivetrain Malfunction error is no longer displayed
__________________
~F90Conversion~21"3Piece Forged AvantGardeWheels~KWV1Coilovers~CQUENCE slotted/drilled rotors~GoodridgeStainlesslines~MeisterschaftQuadEx haust~Akrapovic 4"tips~VRSF DP~VRSF CP~TurboSmart BOV~K&N filter~CarbonFiberExteriorComponents~GladenAlphaCo mponents~MatchUp7BMW~Punch P300-12T~
Follow me on Instagram: lsturbointeg
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2019, 05:35 PM   #27
ziekxq
Major
258
Rep
1,167
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i xDrive
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

The old posti-tab style JB4 has a lot of issues with short circuits now that I recall. I would be very careful as if I remember correctly people had their ECU/dme damaged, which is a costly repair.
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2019, 05:16 AM   #28
Thecastle
Captain
United_States
206
Rep
849
Posts

Drives: F10 550i
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ziekxq View Post
The old posti-tab style JB4 has a lot of issues with short circuits now that I recall. I would be very careful as if I remember correctly people had their ECU/dme damaged, which is a costly repair.
It can be a costly repair. The cheaper way to handle a damaged dme, is to buy one off a wrecked donor vehicle and have the vin cloned. I’ve done that with other bmws when I wanted to have a tuned computer and stock computer that I could swap, yes they can be cloned.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.




5post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST